rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Bill Bengry Memorial Peak Revs Rally 1997

Ludlow Castle Motor Club

8th/9th November 1997

Clerk of the Course: Sarah Gluyas

Route: 120 Miles

Maps: 137 & 149

Starters: 80

Winners: Baron Glaze/Dave Pitchford (Ford Escort)

After returning to road rallying after a break of several years Andy Sheppard/Mike Hart had put in some impressive performances in the previous few months, these were now crowned by victory on Ludlow Castle MC's Peak Revs Rally. Baron Glaze/Pete Davies were second, a result that was enough to clinch for them the 1997 Welsh Championship.

Peak Revs Rally 1997

The 120 mile route used the lanes to the south of the rally's base at Ludlow, basically forming an anti-clockwise loop centred on Leominster. There were seven sections, three being plot and bash, while the instructions for the other four were issued at the Start. The expected wet and windy weather never materialised, although competitors had to contended with very slippery conditions. As a result many crews, including the winners, reported minor offs.

At the start of the event the Welsh Championship looked to be wide open with four crews still with a chance of the main titles. However by the end Glaze/Davies were clear, taking maximum championship points while their rivals hit problems. Pete Cotton/Dave Pitchford and Dennis Quinn/Andrew Thomson both wrong slotted on the very first section and dropped three minutes each in the process. Cotton/Pitchford completed the event in 11th place, but Quinn/Thomson went on to pick up a fail for an incorrect code board and came home in 31st place.

The fourth crew in the championship race, Graham Evans/Ian Mills, only made it two miles into the event before being excluded for a give way infringement. Cyril Crook/Chris Ware, along with another 11 crews, were also reported for not stopping by the same DSO; they continued to the Finish and instead of exclusion, they were awarded a fail. Without the fail Crook/Ware would have been second.

The exclusion of Evans/Mills meant that the WAMC Standard Production class wouldn't be decided until the final round the series. The Corolla crew's main challenger's, Peter Zjalic/Richard Preece, finished fifth and therefore still had an outside chance of the title.

The results also had a significant effect on the West Midlands championship. In the drivers title race Baron Glaze took the lead; he was five points ahead of Dennis Quinn, while in the navigator's table, Andrew Thomson was seven points in front of Pete Davies. The last round of both the Welsh and West Midlands series would be the Holrus Rally at the end of November.

So it was that Sheppard/Hart's rapid Toyota Corolla took the victory, but Glaze/Davies were only 43 seconds behind. While in an impressive third place were the top Semi-Expert crew of Richard Howells/Ben Innes, they were just 11 seconds further back. The Standard Production Award went to Gareth Jones/Ietyn ap Dafydd, who continued their excellent run of results with seventh overall. The novice class was won by Tim Daltrey/Paul Fellis, who were 39th.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Andy Sheppard Mike Hart Toyota Corolla 4m 11s
2 Baron Glaze Pete Davies Ford Escort 4m 54s
3 Richard Howells Ben Innes Ford Escort 5m 05s
4 Des Phasey Steve Price Ford Escort 5m 44s
5 Peter Zjalic Richard Preece Toyota Corolla 5m 46s
6 Alyson Acreman Byron Jones Vauxhall Nova 6m 34s
7 Gareth Jones Iestyn ap Dafydd Toyota Corolla 6m 34s
8 Jon Ross Dave Stocking Ford Escort 6m 41s
9 Chris Painter Steve Quine Vauxhall Nova 7m 44s
10 Kevin Hesketh Andy Moss Ford Escort 7m 54s
11 Pete Cotton Dave Pitchford Ford Escort 7m 56s
12 Simon Mellings Carl Ellis Peugeot 205 GTi 8m 27s
13 Steven Bishop Tim Kear Ford Escort 8m 34s
14 Kevin Ikin Ian Vale Ford Escort 8m 42s
15 Neil Griffiths Carl Williamson Ford Escort 9m 07s
16 Paul Pritchard Brian Jenkins Ford Escort 10m 47s
17 Trevor Pritchard Paul Hughes MG Maestro 11m 22s
18 Adrian Higman Cyril Jones Talbot Sunbeam 13m 04s
19 Andy Conway Pete Evans Ford Escort 16m 50s
20 Jayne Hill Andrew Hughes Vauxhall Nova GSi 18m 07s
21 Tony Watkin Medwyn Evans Mini 1275 GT 21m 10s
22 Toby Adam Steve Durbin Ford Escort 22m 26s
23 Richard Roberts Steven Roberts Ford Escort 24m 35s
24 Alan Thompson Dave Painter Toyota Corolla 25m 19s
25 Oliver Davies Chris Jones Peugeot 205 27m 11s
26 Cyril Crook Chris Ware Talbot Sunbeam 1F 4m 46s
27 Adrian Hodgson Sean Caddick Renault Fuego 1F 5m 18s
28 Steven Edwards Paul Jones Ford Escort 1F 5m 29s
29 Wayne Morris Paul Middleton Ford Escort 1F 6m 48s
30 Richard 'Tyson' Morris Owen Dodd Talbot Samba 1F 7m 37s
31 Dennis Quinn Andrew Thomson Ford Escort 1F 7m 43s
32 John Jones Chris Rowlands Renault 11 Turbo 1F 8m 20s
33 Jamie Burton Dave Dewson Ford Escort 1F 9m 11s
34 Dave Evison Brian Jones Ford Sierra 1F 15m 21s
35 Martin Cresswell Martin Penny Ford Escort 1F 16m 50s
36 Dean Williams Nigel Nelson Ford Escort 1F 19m 37s
37 Andrew Rumble Michael Harrison Ford Escort 1F 21m 47s
38 Peter Crighton John Thornton Opel Ascona 1F 24m 24s
39 Tom Daltry Paul Fillis Ford Escort 1F 28m 06s
40 Ben Corbett Marcus Watmough Talbot Sunbeam 1F 32m 47s
41 Brian Harrison Cliff Washbrook Ford Escort 2F 13m 31s
42 Kevin Hutchins Garry Thomas Talbot Samba 2F 14m 46s
43 Neal Arden Giles Corbett Ford Escort 2F 16m 14s
44 Glyn Price Craig Parry Ford Escort 2F 24m 36s
45 Alan Ridge Simon Ridge Ford Escort 2F 24m 58s
46 Nigel Jones Nathan Parry Ford Escort 2F 32m 12s
47 Kev Andrew Nigel Hall Ford Escort 2F 38m 26s
48 Graeme Mason Iain Holt Peugeot 205 4F 32m 22s
49 D Ludlow P Payne Peugeot 205 4F 35m 26s
50 Duncan Edwards Matthew Preece Ford Escort 7F 35m 06s
51 Neil Matthews Kate Withers Vauxhall Nova 7F 36m 19s
52 Gareth Davies Tony Hutchings Vauxhall Chevette 9F 34m 17s