rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Peak Revs Rally 1999

Sponsored by Sheppards Stores + Parrot Screen Printing

Ludlow Castle Motor Club

13th/14th November 1999

Clerk of the Course: Mike Wilding + Jane Powell

Route: 130 Miles

Maps: 137 148 & 149

Starters: 75

Winners: Phil Turner/Owen Dodd (VW Golf GTi)

Phil Turner entered the Peak Revs as a test for his new car, a Golf GTi, and, partnered by Owen Dodd, promptly won the event. However it was a close run thing with the leading runners being seperated by just a few seconds.

Peak Revs Rally 1999

The rally was the penultimate round of the three major road rally championship; the Welsh, West Midlands and North Western. It therefore wasn't surprising that it attracted a capacity 75 car entry to Leominster. Competitors tackled an excellent 130 mile route in southern Shropshire, much of it on farm and forestry tracks. There were six standard sections, with all controls timed to the minute, bar for one which was a tie breaker to the second.

The early pace was set by Alan Walker/Nick Darkin, they were the only crew to clean the first section. Unfortunately their Escort broke a brake disk on a uphill hairpin at the start of the third section and they were out. The same corner claimed the Escort of Kevin Hesketh/Andy Moss, which broke a halfshaft.

By the petrol halt crews had been sorted by the tie breaker section, with Turner/Dodd being fastest by eight seconds. The 1998 winners, Andy Sheppard/Mike Hart, were holding second place in their Mitsubishi Lancer Evo3. However they were to drop a minute more than their immediate rivals in the second half and fell to fifth at the Finish. This was still enough to secure the Standard Production Award.

Kevin Ikin/Rob Jones finished second, to strengthen Ikin's lead in the North Western Championship. In the navigator's table Dave Pitchford, despite finishing 13th, still held a narrow lead over Iain Tullie, who was 9th. Thirteenth was enough for Pitchford's partner, Paul Holmberg, to clinch the West Midlands driver's title.

Neil Griffiths/Carl Williamson improved their chances of taking the Welsh Championship by finishing fourth. Their main rivals Toby Adams/Pat Gadsby withdrew after picking up two fails on the tie breaker section. Gareth Jones/Richard Preece finished 7th and this secured them the Standard Production section within the Welsh Championship.

Wayne Morris/Paul Middleton's excellent third place meant that Morris could still challenge Jerry Jones and Paul Rogers for the Welsh Under 1300 category award.

Nick Bloxham/Martyn Allen were clear winners of the Semi-Expert Class, finishing three minutes and ten places clear of their nearest challengers, 'Polly'/Duncan Pinnegar. Chris Rowlands/Paul Edwards were equally emphatic winners in the Novice Class, finishing 21st overall.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Phil Turner Owen Dodd VW Golf GTi 7m 13s
2 Kevin Ikin Rob Jones Ford Escort 7m 26s
3 Wayne Morris Paul Middleton Ford Escort 7m 27s
4 Neil Griffiths Carl Williamson Ford Escort 7m 34s
5 Andy Sheppard Mike Hart Mitsubishi Lancer Evo3 8m 21s
6 Graham Evans Ian Mills Toyota Corolla 8m 28s
7 Gary Jones Richard Preece Toyota Corolla 8m 29s
8 Paul Webb Ieuan Thomas Vauxhall Astra 8m 41s
9 Mick Monaghan Iain Tullie Ford Escort 9m 28s
10 Steven Edwards Ian Vale Ford Sierra 9m 28s
11 Chris Painter Steve Quine Vauxhall Nova 10m 37s
12 Pete Cotton Brian Jenkins Ford Escort 10m 56s
13 Paul Holmberg Ian Vale Ford Escort 11m 00s
14 Nick Bloxham Martyn Allen Peugeot 205 GTi 11m 21s
15 Tudor Morris Gerallt Davies Ford Escort 12m 14s
16 Mark Skellern Jez Harris Ford Escort Sport 12m 14s
17 John Powell Marr Barker VauxhalL Astra 12m 18s
18 Neil Arden Giles Corbett Ford Escort 12m 41s
19 Steven Davies Ben Innes Ford Fiesta 12m 44s
20 Geraint Davies Patrick Walsh Toyota Corolla 12m 55s
21 Chris Rowlands Paul Edwards Vauxhall Astra GTE 13m 43s
22 Keith Daniels John Gilbey Vauxhall Nova 13m 58s
23 Brian Harrison Cliff Washbrook Ford Escort 14m 23s
24 Polly Duncan Pinnegar Peugeot 205 GTi 14m 56s
25 Brandon Smith Nigel Roberts Opel Manta 15m 30s
26 Nick Broadway Andy Oakes Ford Sierra 15m 37s
27 Paul Jones Paul Edwards Vauxhall Nova 16m 09s
28 Mark Price Roger Evans Toyota Corolla 16m 30s
29 John Worthing John Cadwallader Volvo 16m 38s
30 John Harmer Sarah Harmer MG Maestro 16m 46s
31 Andrew Roberts Leon Jones Ford Escort 17m 23s
32 Jerry Jones Phil Lewis Mini Clubman 17m 47s
33 Hefin George Dilwyn Jones Mazda 323 Turbo 20m 50s
34 Delwyn Pryce Linsey Pryce Ford Escort 23m 22s
35 Nigel Phillips Baryan Joseph Toyota Corolla 24m 12s
36 Dick Humphreys John Humphreys Ford Escort 26m 17s
37 John Jones Alan Thompson Renault 11 Turbo 27m 32s
38 Shane Gamble Gemma Price Vauxhall Astra 28m 47s
39 Steven Owen Will Lynes Ford Escort 34m 47s
40 Alan Ridge Simon Ridge Ford Escort 1F 13m 48s
41 Richard Jones Heath Griffiths Ford Escort 1F 18m 27s
42 Tony Watkin Medwyn Evans Mini 1275 GT 1F 34m 27s
43 Duncan Edwards Matthew Preece Ford Escort 2F 29m 07s
44 Oliver Davies Chris Jones Ford Escort 3F 11m 00s
45 Martin Perris Dean Davies Ford Fiesta 3F 15m 28s
46 Martin Bradley Gordon Bradley Ford Escort 6F 17m 03s
47 Tim Cooper B A Corbett Ford Escort 6F 32m 47s
48 Stephen Jones David Jones Toyota Corolla 15F 29m 22s
49 Rob Jeffries Kevin Taylor Subaru RXT 16F 17m 00s
50 Adrian Coundley Nick Sugg Ford Escort 26F 24m 56s
51 David Rennocks David Hydean Vauxhall Nova 28F 25m 02s