rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Peak Revs 2 K Rally 2000

Sponsored by Tarmac Western Ltd

Ludlow Castle Motor Club

11th/12th November 2000

Clerk of the Course: Jane Powell

Route: 130 Miles

Maps: 137 148 & 149

Starters: 75

Winners: Wayne Morris/Paul Middleton (Ford Escort)

Wayne Morris/Paul Middleton proved that they were the class of field on Saturday night's Peak Revs Rally, taking their 1600cc Escort to victory over more powerful opposition.

Peak Revs Rally 2000
Winners: Wayne Morris/Paul Middleton (Ford Escort)
Photograph: M&H Photography

Due to route clashes Ludlow Castle MC had been forced to abandon their usual territory in South Shropshire for their premier event. Despite these problems the organisers found a demanding route which confined itself to the lanes to the west of Leominster. As would be expected after recent floods, standing water was a added problem for the 75 crews as they tackled the 110 mile route.

Morris/Middleton took the lead on the first section and although their final winning margin was under 15 seconds, they were undoubtedly the quickest crew throughout the night.

By finishing in second place Gary Jones, partnered as usual by Dave Pitchford, secured the Welsh Road Rally Drivers' Championship; the Blackwood driver having taken maximum series points on the final three rounds. Jones saw off a strong challenge from Toby Adam, who finished fourth on the Peak Revs, and Dennis Quinn, who trailed in eighth, having lost 90 seconds after going off the road in Wigmore Forest.

Peak Revs Rally 2000

The navigators' table was headed by Adam's regular partner, Pat Gadsby, who had benefitted from Pitchford's non-appearance on the Greenleaves earlier in the year. Pitchford scored maximum championship points on four of the seven rounds that he contested.

Gareth Jones/Patrick Walsh hired Alan Gaunt's Subaru Legacy for the night, as their XR3 was still awaiting repair after their Malky shunt, however the change of car caused little problem as they finished third. The result secured Jones the Lampeter Motor Club Championship. Aled Evans could have denied Jones the title but lost a minute when his Sierra cut out at one point and he finished sixth.

Of the 75 starters, 58 made it back to the Finish, significantly the 1999 winners Phil Turner/Owen Dodd were not amongst them, they retired when a driveshaft broke on their Golf.

Other retirements included Kevin Hesketh/Andy Moss (crash), Claire Evans/Allen Hart (broken cambelt) and Brian Jones/Nigel Roberts (headgasket). Michael Pedley/David Pedley finished in 11th after having to stop and change the coil on their Escort G4 on a tight section.

The Standard Production Category was taken by the Vauxhall Astra of Paul Webb/Justin Brooks, who continued their good run of results by finishing fifth.

Mick Bradley/Dean George won the Semi-Expert class, coming in 25th overall, four places and two minutes in front of the nearest class rivals, Richard Preece/Tim Gluyas.

Nine of the twelve Novices who started made it to the Finish and the class win went to Mick Cooper/Chris Wilson.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Wayne Morris Paul Middleton Ford Escort 2m 54s
2 Gary Jones Dave Pitchford Toyota Corolla 3m 08s
3 Gareth 'Gog' Jones Patrick Walsh Subaru Legacy 3m 50s
4 Toby Adam Pat Gadsby Ford Escort 4m 00s
5 Paul Webb Justin Brooks VauxhalL Astra GTE 4m 29s
6 Aled Evans Eyrl Evans Ford Sierra XR4x4 4m 32s
7 Andy Sheppard Mike Hart Toyota Corolla 4m 35s
8 Dennis Quinn Dave Evison Ford Escort 4m 42s
9 Hefin George Carl Williamson Nissan Sunny GTi-R 5m 18s
10 Nick Broadway Andy Oakes Ford Escort 5m 26s
11 Michael Pedley David Pedley Ford Escort G4 5m 28s
12 Adrian Higman Cyril Jones MG Maestro 6m 00s
13 Richard Roe Chris Ware Talbot Sunbeam 6m 14s
14 Pete Cotton Duncan Pinnegar Ford Escort 7m 16s
15 Martin Bradley Gordon Bradley Ford Escort 7m 42s
16 Roger Tristram Stan Appleton Peugeot 205 GTi 7m 43s
17 Grant Parker Mark Robinson Toyota Corolla 7m 47s
18 Iain Scott Jez Harries Toyota Corolla 8m 33s
19 Alan Jones Mark Andrews Vauxhall Astra GTE 8m 33s
20 Alyson Acreman Byron Jones Peugeot 309 GTi 8m 34s
21 Jerry Jones Ian Cooke Mini Clubman 8m 53s
22 Mark Harris Neil Bevan Peugeot 205 GTi 9m 01s
23 Andrew Lewis Justin Davies Ford Escort 9m 44s
24 Delwyn Price Steve Herbert Ford Escort 10m 00s
25 Mick Bradley Dean George Peugeot 309 GTi 10m 23s
26 John Powell Worton Vauxhall Astra GTE 11m 47s
27 Wayne Elliott Paul Edwards Toyota Corolla 11m 56s
28 Keith Thomas Chris Froome Vauxhall Cavalier GLi 12m 35s
29 Richard Preece Tim Gluyas Ford Escort 12m 37s
30 Simon Cottrell Marcus Watmough Talbot Sunbeam 12m 38s
31 Andrew Roberts Stuart Frost Ford Escort 12m 38s
32 Martin Lloyd Heath Griffiths Ford Escort 13m 24s
33 Brian Harrison Cliff Washbrook Ford Escort 14m 43s
34 Metcalfe Dave Stocking Ford Escort RS2000 15m 57s
35 Graham Evans Ian Mills Toyota Corolla 18m 23s
36 John Jones Alan Thompson Renault 11 Turbo 18m 30s
37 Trevor Ridge Simon Ridge Ford Escort 18m 56s
38 Chris Stratton James Griffiths Rover Metro 20m 07s
39 Gordon Smith Sharon Clarke Ford Escort 21m 09s
40 Mick Cooper Chris Wilson Ford Escort 21m 13s
41 Neil Arden Giles Corbett Ford Escort Mexico 22m 21s
42 Christian Prynne Doody Farmer Peugeot 205 GTi 22m 21s
43 Steven Owen Will Lynes Ford Escort 23m 27s
44 Anthony Ellis Ian Jarman Ford Escort 27m 34s
45 Haydn Davies Michael Evans Toyota Corolla 29m 21s
46 Bob Ward Paul Biddle Ford Escort 33m 45s
47 Mal Jones Ian Felllows Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 22m 37s
48 Ian Jones Peter Tomlinson VW Golf GTi 1F 24m 59s
49 Baron Glaze Pete Davies Ford Escort 2F 6m 50s
50 Mark Hatton Robin Moses Hillman Avenger 2F 35m 44s
51 Duncan Edwards Matthew Preece Ford Escort 3F 19m 53s
52 Ashley Morris Michael Hardwick Peugeot 205 GTi 5F 24m 49s
53 Chris Wright Erik West Mini Cooper S 5F 31m 55s
54 Alan Lewis Huw Davies Nissan Micra 5F 46m 02s
55 Elfed Williams Darren Garrod Toyota Corolla 6F 17m 27s
56 Russell Carson-Brown Chris Wood Ford Escort 8F 25m 11s
57 Richard Tuckey Marcel Andrews Toyota Corolla 9F 24m 08s
58 Kim Jordan Michael Field MG Maestro 24F 23m 14s