rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Powderham Historic Rally of Devon 2002

Torbay Motor Club

9th/10th March 2002

Clerk of the Course: Colin Goode

Route: 275 Miles + 27 Tests

Maps: 192

Starters: 39

Winners: Paul Heal/Robin Maclacmlan (MGB GT)

Paul Heal/Robin Maclacmlan took a narrow victory from Dave Hughes/Richard Dix on the Powderham Historic Rally.

The Torbay MC organised event took its name from Powderham Castle at which the rally was based. The two day event saw competitors take on a series of tests and regularity sections during Saturday. After a short break there was a two hour road rally night section, followed by a test in the dark. The event finished with another series of tests on Sunday morning. There was a total of 275 competitive miles and 25 tests, two of the originally planned 27 tests having had to be cancelled.

Powderham Historic Rally of Devon 2002

There were 39 starters, of whom 32 made it to the Finish. Although the wind and rain made life unpleasant for the marshals, it didn't affect the running of the event.

The event was a round of the HRCR Historic Road Rally Championship Premier Challenge, plus The Newcomers Challenge and The Hero Challenge for Pre 1960 cars, as well as the ASWMC Historic Rally Championship.

Competition started in the ground of Powderham Castle, where there were four tests, the last of which proved to be a little rough.

At the Finish the MGB GT of Heal/Maclacmlan was less than a minute in front of the Volvo Amazon of Hughes/Dix. Brian Cope/Paul Doe were third in their Mini Cooper S, while pre-event favourites Worth Birkill/Mark Appleton were fourth in a similar car.

There was a close battle for eighth place as Len Olds/Andy Ballantyne (Triumph TR4) beat Chris Hunt Cooke/Dave Kirkham (MG BGB) by just two seconds.

The winners of the B2 Class for Experts in cars registered between 1960 and 1967 were Robert Taylor/Jeanne Taylor in a Lotus Elite. The leading Post Historic crew were Andy Gibson/Bill Cook who finished in tenth place in an MGB GT. They had to have the exhaust repaired after the rough Test 4.

Despite a visit to a ditch, Wesley Massam/Bernard Northmore took their Volvo PV444 to the Novice Class win, while the first Beginners home were Maurice Williams/Malcolm Lamb in an Austin A40. Just behind the A40 were Pam Butterworth/Shon Gosling in a Land Rover Series IIA, an excellent result on their very first rally.

John Pascoe/Calvin Fenwick took the Spirit of the Rally Award, they returned to marshal having retired their Volvo 122S when its engine lost most of its oil. Peter Pratt/Julie Eagleton were also on the retirement list after their Triumph TR2 was the victim of a road traffic accident.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Paul Heal Robin Maclacmlan MGB GT 44m 37s
2 Dave Hughes Richard Dix Volvo B122 45m 51s
3 Brian Cope Paul Doe Mini Cooper S 53m 27s
4 Worth Birkill Mark Appleton Mini Cooper S 55m 29s
5 Geoff McGladdery Steve Freeman Ford Anglia 57m 10s
6 Peter Horsburgh Graham Carter Mini Cooper S 1h 00m 06s
7 Keith Wilson Dave Cooper Volvo PV 544 1h 01m 06s
8 Len Olds Andy Ballantyne Triumph TR2 1h 02m 38s
9 Chris Hunt-Cooke Dave Kirkham MG B 1h 02m 40s
10 Andy Gibson Bill Cook MG B GT 1h 04m 54s
11 Terry Schraider Chas Davies Sunbeam Rapier Series II 1h 07m 37s
12 Robert Taylor Jeanne Taylor Austin Mini 1h 06m 26s
13 Colin Hewitt Andrew Swann Triumph Vitesse 1h 24m 01s
14 Wes Massam Bernard Northmore Volvo PV444 1h 24m 03s
15 Keith Grant Cliff England Ford Anglia
16 Ian Stainburn John Cadwallader Volvo 122S
17 Pam Butterworth Shon Gosling Land Rover Series IIA 1h 53m 14s
18 Graham Ward Jeffrey Ward Riley Elf
19 David York Geoff Rogers Sunbeam Rapier S2 2h 04m 05s
20 John Kiff Michael Hinde VW Beetle
21 Emma Henchoz Rob Henchoz Volvo Amazon
22 Christopher Exelby Nick Handy MGB Roadster 2h 23m 22s
23 Valerie Gilmore Graham Gilmore MG 1100
24 Bob Sweetman Gill Sweetman Sunbeam Alpine S5
25 Douglas Wright Carol Wright Datsun 240Z
26 Jeremy Ford Stephen Myers Daimler Dart
27 John Dando Alexis Dando Volvo 131
28 Mark Hinchley Dave Ford MGB Roadster
29 Maurice Williams Malcolm Lamb Austin A40 4h 50m 26s
30 Julian Pacey Mike Arivich Vauxhall VX4/90
31 Peter Joy Charlotte Taylor Lotus Elite
32 Richard White Ben Greenfield Austin Healey 100/6