rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Powerush Rally 2003

Sponsored by Media Control

Borough 18 Motor Club

4th/5th October 2003

Clerk of the Course: Doug Kingsley

Route: 160 Miles

Maps: 179 & 189

Starters: 15

Winners: Andy Coshan/Phil Kendall (Renault 19)

There was a dead heat for the win of Borough 18 MC’s Powerush Rally, with the matter being decided in favour of Andy Coshan/Phil Kendall on the furthest clean principle.

Powerush Rally 2003

The Kent based event had a 165 mile route which included runs through the North Downs and Romney Marsh. Cryptic navigation, a tight route and slippery conditions made it a tough challenge, however the rally was once again well received by competitors.

Championship leaders Steve Cole/Bob Blows had a poor first half but then were the only crew to clean the second, however Coshan/Kendall did just enough to ensure that the two crews tied on penalties, this meant that their better start gave them victory when the furthest clean tie break was applied.

Phil Collings/Mark Collings had shared the lead with Coshan/Kendall at Petrol, but a puncture followed by a time consuming wrong slot saw them finish a distant third.

Andy Garrett/Jon Taylor finished sixth and took the Semi-Expert class win. There were no entries in the Novice section, but there were in the Clubmans Rally, which was won by the Ford Escort of Mick Rose/Jason Mortlock.

Allan Sayers/Jon Stringer suffered a puncture and gear selection problems on their Nova, while the MR2 of Zip Zerihan/Lizzie Pope struggled with clutch and altenator problems. Both crews had to cut route to stay within their time limits but managed to finish in tenth and eleventh places respectively. Tim Warburton/John Upham were less fortunate, retiring when a gear linkage broke on their Golf.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Andy Coshan Phil Kendall Renault 19 28m 00s
2 Steve Coles Bob Blows Peugeot 205 GTi 28m 00s
3 Phil Collings Mark Collings Peugeot 205 GTi 78m 00s
4 Olly Smith David Coles Peugeot 309 GTi 79m 00s
5 Dominic Worsfold Matt Fowle Peugeot 106 Rallye 120m 00s
6 Andy Garrett Jon Taylor Peugeot 205 GTi 377m 00s
7 Bob Wisniewski Paul Lettington Vauxhall Nova GTE 552m 00s
8 Chin Kevin Ablitt Opel Manta 633m 00s
9 Toby Jeffries Nick Clarke Vauxhall Nova SR 633m 00s
10 Allan Sayers Jon Stringer Vauxhall Nova 1169m 00s