rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Poxihen Rally 2004

Sporting Car Club of Norfolk

7th/8th February 2004

Clerk of the Course: Simon Tebbutt

Route: 164 Miles

Maps: 132 & 133

Starters: 16

Winners: David Leckie/Dave Bell (Vauxhall Nova)

A steady but accurate strategy provided David Leckie/Dave Bell (Vauxhall Nova) with a clear win on the Poxihen Rally in Norfolk. They were the only crew to finish The Sporting Car Club of Norfolk’s navigational rally free of fails. They picked up 45 minutes time penalties but completed the route correctly.

Tony Michaels/Paul Barrett (Honda Civic) dropped just one minute but missed out a loop which contained a route check and the resultant fail dropped them to second.

Mark Banham had stepped in to provide the rally with a start venue after the original arrangements fell through. He, navigated by Paul Haylock, went on to clean the route on time penalties but missed not only the same loop as Michaels/Barrett but another later in the night as well. This meant that the pair, competing in a Subau Legacy, pick up two fails and finished in third.

Rob Kitchen/James Savage (Peugeot 205), on the driver’s first ever full night event, finished in fourth, while the leading novice crew of Julian Riley/Josh Riley took fifth overall in their Saab V4; this was 16 year old Josh's rallying debut.

Top seeds James Reed/Richard Preece (Toyota Celica) struggling with the plot ‘n bash format and could only finish in eleventh place. Matt Fowle/Bob Blows (Peugeot 106) had been expected to go well, but retired after drowning out in a ford on the first section. Brian Marquis/Ben Marquis drowned their Escort RS2000 in the same ford, but they got going again and the 14 year old navigator guided his father to ninth place.

Andy Merchant, navigating for Chris Parmeter, was competing on a road rally for the first time in twenty years. Unfortunately, their Maestro lost all its oil and they were forced out of the event.

Competitors had faced tricky conditions on the 164 mile route - just an hour before the Start the area had been hit by a blizzard.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 David Leckie Dave Bell Vauxhall Nova 45m 00s
2 Tony Michaels Paul Barrett Honda Civic 1F 01m 00s
3 Mark Banham Paul Haylock Subaru Legacy 2F 00m 00s
4 Rob Kitchen James Savage Peugeot 205 6F 32m 00s
5 Julian Riley Josh Riley Saab 96 V4 6F 56m 00s
6 Jon Taylor Andrew Garrett Peugeot 309 GTi 8F 22m 00s
7 Graham Leese Michael Bell Vauxhall Astra 14F 35m 00s
8 Mark Annison Lorraine Annison Ford Fiesta 16F 53m 00s
9 Brian Marquis Ben Marquis Ford Escort RS2000 17F 59m 00s
10 Martin Newson Phil Newson Peugeot 106 19F 52m 00s
11 James Reed Richard Preece Toyota Celica
12 Howard Joynt Simon Riley Opel Manta