rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Preston Rally 2002

Sponsored by Preston Garage Ltd of Writtle, Chelmsford

Chelmsford Motor Club

7th/8th December 2002

Clerk of the Course: Adrian Gladwin

Route: 123 Miles

Map: 143, 144, 154 & 155

Starters: 50

Winners: Andy Baker/Lee Burgess (Peugeot 205)

Preston Rally 2002

Andy Baker/Lee Burgess clinched the East Midlands Rally Championship with a win on Chelmsford MC’s Preston Road Rally.

The event, which raises money for the East Anglian Air Ambulance Service, used a route of 123 mile. There were almost 100 miles on unsurfaced tracks.

Baker/Burgess, competing in their regular AB Motorsport Peugeot 205, took the lead shortly before the first petrol halt and then pulled away from the opposition in the second half of the event.

Their main challenge had come from the Impreza of 2001 winners Steve Webster/Roger Hage. However by the Finish the 205 was exactly a minute ahead of the Subaru on time penalties. The organisers had imposed a five minute penalty on any 4WD car and, with this added, Webster/Hage fell to third behind the Corolla of Martin Smith/Matthew Fowle. This meant that the top three crews, in a slightly different order, were the same as the previous year.

The rest of the field, who were well down on the leading trio, were led home by the Rover Metro GTi of Jamie Turner/Graham Raeburn in fourth place. Toby Adam/Pat Gadsby had held third place initially but they then picked up a fail after booking in early and were finally classified in twelfth place.

Rob Reynolds/Allan Collyer were the leading Semi-Expert crew, their Impreza took them to fifth quickest on time penalties, however the 4WD penalty meant they were classified eighth.

Mark Hanham/Paul Haycock would have won the Semi-Expert Class but were another crew who picked up a fail for booking in early.

Preston Rally 2002
Winners: Andy Baker/Lee Burgess (Peugeot 205)
Photograph: M&H Photography

Richard Atherton/Chris Bowden finished ninth in their MG Maestro and were the winners of the Novice Class.

Of the 50 starters, 31 made it to the Finish. Amongst those that didn't were Gary Jones/Andy Oakes, they bent a shock absorber on their Corolla. Owen Turner/Andrew Dadswell, who had finished in sixth place on the two previous running of the Preston, had the diff fail on their Imp.

John Haden/Steve Coupland (Subaru Impreza) got wedged while turning around following an overshoot and got no further. Both Adam Gardner/Gary Orton (Mini) and Mark Annison/David Leckie (Vauxhall Nova) withdrew after losing exhausts.

The toll that the route took on cars was emphasised by Peter Reeson/Paul Daft (Peugeot 205 GTi) and Bob Wisniewski/Paul Lettington (Vauxhall Nova) went out with suspension failure.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Andy Baker Lee Burgess Peugeot 205 GTi 9m 56s
2 Martin Smith Matthew Fowle Toyota Corolla 12m 54s
3 Steve Webster Roger Hage Subaru Impreza 16m 06s
4 Jamie Turner Graham Raeburn MG Metro GTi 30m 31s
5 Jeremy Rodgers Mark Fearon MG Maestro 35m 23s
6 Doug Kingsley Ben Greenwood Vauxhall Nova GTE 38m 22s
7 Mark Turner Gary Evans Peugeot 205 GTi 41m 50s
8 Rob Reynolds Allan Collyer Subaru Impreza GL 43m 52s
9 Richard Atherton Chris Bowden MG Maestro 48m 48s
10 Ben Clay Richard Hage Peugeot 205 GTi 1h 11m 13s
11 Allan Sayers Bob Stokoe Ford Fiesta XR2 1h 26m 27s
12 Toby Adam Pat Gadsby Ford Escort 1F 19m 14s
13 Martin Betts Mick Fern Ford Escort 1F 27m 58s
14 Mark Banham Paul Haycock Vauxhall Nova 1F 37m 28s
15 Nigel Dinsdale Brian Marquis Ford Escort 1F 47m 59s
16 Steve Monk Tom Ward Toyota Corolla 2F 33m 54s
17 Dave Broadley Ian Broadley Lada Riva 2F 1h 21m 54s
18 Ian Perry Clive Chapman Citroen BX 2F 1h 22m 50s
19 Stuart Delf Lorraine Annison Ford Fiesta XR2 2F 1h 23m 11s
20 Dave Rowbottom Liz Rowbottom Toyota Corolla 3F 51m 15s
21 Dick Archer Tim Ball Vauxhall Astra 5F 20m 00s
22 Issac Zarmati Sarah Zarmati Peugeot 205 6F 1F 14m 43s
23 Paddy Jones Tony Lomgstaff Saab 900i 6F 1h 44m 33s
24 Richard Bardbury Andrew Mason Peugeot 205 GTi 7F 42m 50s
25 Murray MacDonald Dave Smoley VW Golf GTi 10F 1h 10m 44s
26 Dave Leadbetter Matthew Endean Vauxhall Astra 13F 1h 19m 33s
27 Joe Massey Daniel Athurton Peugeot 205 GTi 16F 1h 00m 53s
28 Mark Whitford Steve Porter Toyota Corolla 18F 26m 53s
29 Jim Hedgecock Ben Howard Daihatsu Charade 20F 59m 14s
30 Clive Baty Ray Crowther Proton Compact 21F 33m 09s
31 Malcolm Barber Paul Wright Ford Sierra 35F 1h 03m 10s