rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Llyn 1997

Sponsored by Express Motors Commercials

Harlech & District Motor Club

22nd/23rd March 1997

Clerk of the Course: Alan Williams

Route: 150 Miles

Maps: 123

Starters: 53

Winners: Gwynfor Jones/Alan Jôs (Ford Escort)

Harlech & District MC's seeding proved very accurate as 1996 winners Gwynfor Jones/Alan Jôs repeated their success on the Rali Llyn; they were followed home by Car 2, the Sunbeam of Dave Jones/Baz Green. The tough nature of the event was proven by the fact that these two were the only crews fail free at the end.

This North Western Road Rally Championship round used a 150 mile route, all of which was on the Lleyn Peninsula. There were just four sections, but within these there were 100 controls of which 44 were time controls, the first section was a true regularity, with one secret control timed on sight.

The eventual winners have become masters in this area, but they trailed Jones/Green by 24 seconds after the latter cleaned the initial regularity section. However on the next section the Sunbeam crew fell behind after losing eight minutes dealling with a broken shock absorber. Lee Mathews/Gary Mathews, in an emaculate Mk5 Escort, could have taken second but picked up a fail for a wrong departure from a triangle PC, they eventually finished third.

Of the 53 starters 32 made it to the finish. Among those that didn't were Rob Roberts/Paul Middleton who hit a wall just before petrol and Kevin Parry/Gareth Price whose Escort succumbed to a broken throttle cable


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Gwynford Jones Alan Jôs Ford Escort 9m 42s
2 Dave Jones Baz Green Talbot Sunbeam 18m 53s
3 Lee Matthews Gary Matthews Ford Escort Mk5 1F 18m 42s
4 Jason Hardy Eddie Urbanski VW Golf GTi 1F 20m 40s
5 Dave Jones Stephen Kerr Ford Escort 1F 25m 31s
6 John Jones Rob Jones Talbot Sunbeam 1F 25m 50s
7 Steven Roberts Geoff Williams Ford EScort 1F 46m 01s
8 Martyn Quant Tecwyn Jones Vauxhall Nova SR 1F 48m 34s
9 John Jones Chris Rowlands Renault 11 Turbo 2F 31m 54s
10 Gareth Davies Andy Poppleton Vauxhall Astra 2F 42m 14s
11 Mal Acott Paul Green Toyota Corolla 3F 14m 32s
12 Tudor Morris Gerallt Davies Ford Escort 3F 31m 56s
13 Nigel Thomas Phil Stocking Ford Escort 4F 18m 16s
14 Gerellt Davies Michael Evans Ford Escort 4F 22m 30s
15 Cyril Jones Dave Stocking Ford Escort 4F 28m 10s
16 Geraint Bowness Arwel Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 5F 33m 21s
17 Tony Gush Arfon Jones VW Golf 7F 32m 35s
18 Iwan Pritchard Paul Owen Ford Escort 7F 43m 23s
19 Bryan Glass Edgar Jones Ford Escort 9F 38m 31s
20 David Davies Peter Morris Ford Escort 9F 49m 09s
21 Eurig Thomas Richard Jones Ford Escort 9F 51m 28s
22 Richard Roe Ralph Robson Talbot Sunbeam 12F 42m 24s
23 Steven Barrett Neil Coulson Talbot Sunbeam 14F 72m 41s
24 Richard Roberts Steven Roberts Ford Escort 22F 61m 48s
25 Richard Jones Ian Monaghan Peugeot 205 GTi 23F 54m 38s
26 Christopher Tindall Stephanie Lloyd Vauxhall Chevette HS 24F 58m 37s
27 Noel Hughes Bronwen Hughes Saab 96 V4 25F 65m 56s
28 Gwynfor Jones Rob Jones Ford Escort 26F 41m 32s
29 Alan Hughes Dylan Humphries Ford Escort 31F 48m 43s
30 Paul Jones Steve Roberts Vauxhall Nova 36F 65m 46s
31 Kath Rumney Perry Roe Ford Escort 44F 31m 46s
32 Steve Hughes Karl Sieben Ford Capri 46F 72m 21s