rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Llyn 1998

Sponsored by Express Motors Commercials

Harlech & District Motor Club

28th/29th March 1998

Clerk of the Course: Alan Williams

Route: 150 Miles

Maps: 123

Starters: 63

Winners: Steven Roberts/Alan Jôs (Ford Escort)

Alan Jôs made it a hat trick of wins on the Rali Llyn as he navigated Steven Roberts to victory on the Harlech & District MC event. Gerallt Davies/Michael Evans came home second to make it a 1-2 for the organising club. The rally started from the sponsor's premises at Penygroes and took in virtually every lane on the Lleyn Peninsula, with a number tracks added for good measure.

Second placed Davies/Evans picked up the least penalties, 55 seconds, over the opening Le Jog style regularity section, but fell back during the standard sections which followed; they finished 23 seconds behind Roberts/Jones, who had dropped 1m 24s on the regularity. Kevin Ikin/Rob Jones were third, picking up useful North Western Championship points. However the result was gained at the cost of their Escort's engine as they completed the last 40 miles with no oil pressure.

Carwyn Evans/Paul Roberts were the fastest crew over the standard sections in their Escort 2.0 but, having dropped 6m 52s on the regularity, fourth was their final placing. Jason Harding/Elfyn 'Slim' Richards were fifth in their VW Golf and took away the top local crew award. While sixth was the remarkable Saab 96 of Keith Jenkins/Edwyn Evans, they had a trouble free run bar for a slight off on one of the whites, which cost them two minutes.

Defending ANWCC Champion Paul Holmberg, partnered by Paul Jones, was eighth in a newly acquired four door two-litre Escort. After a quick time over the regularity section they were hampered for the rest of the event by having to hold the lights on with the stalk

Dave Jones/Gareth Price were ninth and took the Standard Production Award in their Toyota Corolla. They were another crew who could have won as they were only 11 minutes behind the winners at the end, having dropped 17m 35s on the first standard section, a delay caused by a broken shock absorber.

The Semi-Expert award went to Baz Green/Geraint Jones, who were 14th overall in their Peugeot 205. Richard Jones/Heath Griffiths were second in class, with the Manta of Keith Parry/Perry Roe third.

The top Novices, Carwyn Edwards/Rhys Owen, took their Escort 1.6 to 13th overall, and were the only crew in the class to be fail free. The event also had a Beginner's category for those on their very first rally. This was won by Mark Williams/Chris Worsley who were a remarkable 15th overall in their Peugeot 205.

Notable navigators of the future were just starting out on their rallying careers; Bardon Smith/Steve Herbert were 41st overall, while Raymond Thomas/Darren Garrod finished in 44th and last place.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Steven Roberts Alan Jôs Ford Escort 10m 41s
2 Gerallt Davies Michael Evans Ford Escort 18m 53s
3 Kev Ikin Rob Jones Ford Escort 12m 46s
4 Carwyn Evans Paul Roberts Ford Escort 15m 23s
5 Jason Hardy Elfyn Richards VW Golf GTi 15m 26s
6 Keith Jenkins Edwyn Evans Saab 96 V4 17m 16s
7 Tudor Morris Gerallt Davies Ford Escort 18m 49s
8 Paul Holmberg Paul Jones Ford Escort 19m 10s
9 Dave Jones Gareth Price Toyota Corolla 21m 28s
10 Arwel Griffiths Stephen Kerr Peugeot 205 GTi 21m 42s
11 John Jones Dave Stocking Renault 11 Turbo 28m 40s
12 Dyfed Pritchard Tecwyn Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 34m 33s
13 Carwyn Edwards Rees Owen Ford Escort 35m 51s
14 Baz Green Geraint Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 38m 01s
15 Mark Williams Chris Worsley Peugeot 205 GTi 49m 53s
16 Mark Price Peter Morris Ford Escort 51m 57s
17 Iwan Pritchard Paul Owen Ford Escort 1F 21m 57s
18 Alwyn Thomas Steve Goodwin Ford Escort 1F 28m 26s
19 Richard Jones Heath Griffiths Ford Escort 1F 48m 42s
20 Dave Evans Cyril Jones Hyundai Pony 1F 51m 18s
21 Keith Parry Perry Roe Opel Manta 1F 53m 34s
22 Trystan Bevan Dylan Jones Vauxhall Chevette 1F 60m 02s
23 John Griffiths Darren Jones Vauxhall Nova SR 2F 42m 14s
24 Arwel Jones Jason Williams Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 49m 19s
25 Wyn Williams Ian Evans Ford Ecort 2F 59m 56s
26 Huw Robyns Alan Parry Ford Escort 3F 46m 28s
27 David Davies Mark Morris Ford Escort 3F 75m 58s
28 Alan Hughes Dylan Humphries Peugeot 205 GTi 5F 52m 18s
29 Phil Brown Mark Watkins Ford Escort 5F 66m 43s
30 J C Jones O R Humphreys Ford Escort 5F 68m 09s
31 Dyfed Owen Caren Williams Ford Escort 7F 40m 22s
32 Stephen Hughes Karl Sieben Ford Capri 7F 51m 01s
33 Ian Jones Geraint Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 9F 18m 06s
34 Paul Jones Steve Roberts Vauxhall Nova 9F 63m 14s
35 J A Jones John Jones Ford Capri 9F 67m 10s
36 Andrew Millington Colin Cresswell Ford Escort 10F 57m 33s
37 Steve Barrett Neil Coulson Nissan Cherry 11F 67m 10s
38 Tony Watkins Medwyn Evans Mini 1275GT 12F 63m 09s
39 Iwan Williams Gwion Pryderi Ford Escort 16F 44m 10s
40 Carwyn Ellis Robyn Jones Ford Escort 16F 52m 16s
41 Brandon Smith Steve Herbert Subaru Estate 20F 60m 52s
42 James Kendrick Roger Evans Toyota Corolla 26F 64m 47s
43 Bryn Jones D R Jones Ford Escort 29F 56m 13s
44 Raymond Thomas Darren Garrod Austin Metro 47F 82m 12s