rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Llyn 2002

Sponsored by Express Motors Commercials

Harlech & District Motor Club

23rd/24th March 2002

Clerk of the Course: Michael Evans

Route: 150 Miles

Maps: 123

Starters: 70

Winners: Steven Roberts/Darren Garrod (Ford Escort)

Steven Roberts made it three wins in five years on the Express Motors Commercials Rali Llyn, partnered by Darren Garrod, he took a narrow win from top seeds Ian Jones/Alan Williams.

The Harelch and District MC event is highly popular locally with home crews making up a majority of the entry. Once again this year the 135 mile route was entirely within the Lleyn Penninsula, taking in a wide anti-clockwise loop finishing near Caernarfon.


Rali Llyn 2002
At The Start: Haydn Davies/Paul Roberts (Subaru Impreza)
Rali Llyn 2002
The Car Ablaze [Photograph: Curig Jones]
Rali Llyn 2002
The Remains [Photograph: Curig Jones]

Ian Jones/Alan Williams were leading at the halfway point, however the organisers had decided to clamp down on any errors in the copying down of code boards, with a 20 seconds penalty for any incorrect symbol. At the finish Jones/Williams were penalised for two incorrect letters on two separate boards, this cost them 40 seconds and the win. Roberts/Garrod were declared the winners with a winning margin of just 32 seconds.

Third place went to the Corolla of Carwyn Evans/Alan Jôs, another crew who always go well on the Llyn, Jôs having won the event on three previous occasions.

The hired Subaru Impreza of Haydn Davies/Paul Roberts was tying for the lead at the petrol halt, however the car caused a premature end to the rally as it went up in flames and was totally destroyed on the penultimate section. Due to the need to get fire appliances to the scene the rally was halted at that point.

Fourth were the first non-Harlech crew, Dave Jones/Baz Green, who picked up valuable North Western Championship points as most of their rivals gave the rally a miss. However it was a fortunate result; they had damaged their Astra's suspension when they caught a rock on the penultimate section. Their car was so damaged that they cut straight to the Finish only to find that, due to the Impreza fire, the rally had been halted at the control prior to the section on which they had hit trouble.

Michael Pedley/David Pedley were also chasing North Western Championship points but had a difficult event, the rear axle on their Escort Mk2 began to make banging noises from just after the start of the rally. They eventually had to cut to the Finish, but, due to the cancelled sections, were still able to salvage 15th place.

John Leckie/Jon Madoc Jones were another crew to suffer from additional penalties for missed or incorrect letters from code boards. They had two minutes added to their time penalties, this dropped them from sixth to eighth place.

The leading Semi-Experts made it into the top ten with John Robyns/Alan Parry taking ninth place in their Peugeot 205 and Ian Evans/Caren Williams were just one place and five seconds further back in a Vauxhall Cavalier. Merfyn Williams/Derwyn Roberts had been leading the class before they broke a wishbone on their Escort.

More than half the entry was made up of novice crews and the class was won by Peugeot 205 of Danny and Neil Postlewaithe, with Chris Atkinson/Alan Davies (Ford Escort) second, on the driver's first ever rally, and Wyn Williams/Chris Morsley (Peugeot 205) third.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Steven Roberts Darren Garrod Ford Escort 2m 44s
2 Ian Jones Alan Williams Peugeot 205 GTi 3m 16s
3 Carwyn Evans Alan Jôs Toyota Corolla 4m 28s
4 Dave Jones Baz Green Vauxhall Astra 5m 04s
5 Gwynfor Roberts Stephen Kerr Peugeot 205 GTi 5m 55s
6 Elfed Williams Owen Dodd Peugeot 106 6m 12s
7 Huw Myfyr Jones Merfyn Hughes VW Golf GTi 6m 52s
8 John Leckie Jon Madoc Jones Subaru Legacy Estate 7m 57s
9 John Robyns Alan Parry Peugeot 205 GTi 9m 15s
10 Ian Evans Caren Williams Vauxhall Cavalier 9m 20s
11 Mei Jones Dylan Wyn Jones Vauxhall Astra 9m 55s
12 Elfyn Richards Daniel Richards VW Golf GTi 11m 49s
13 John Baines Iolo Jones Ford Escort RS2000 12m 00s
14 Danny Postlethwaite Neil Postlethwaite Peugeot 205 GTi 13m 57s
15 Michael Pedley David Pedley Ford Escort 14m 14s
16 Noel Hughes Gwawr Hughes Saab 96 V4 15m 35s
17 Chris Atkinson Alan G Davies Ford Escort 16m 36s
18 Aled Roberts Edgar Jones VW Golf GTi 18m 08s
19 Peter Feucht Elwyn Pritchard Lada Riva 22m 16s
20 Wyn Williams Chris Worsley Peugeot 205 23m 15s
21 Neil Thomas Robin Evans Peugeot 205 GTi 27m 35s
22 Huw Parry Chris Jones Mitsubishi Colt 27m 55s
23 Nick Johnson Rob Hopewell Ford Escort 28m 50s
24 Steven J Williams Geoff Williams Peugeot 205 GTi 29m 22s
25 Shaun Buckley Ian Clapham Ford Escort 36m 41s
26 Rhys Roberts Geraint Thomas BL Mini 36m 56s
27 Bryn Jones Robin Jones Ford Sierra 40m 27s
28 Eurig Wyn Thomas Rhun Ellis Toyota Corolla 1F 04m 02s
29 Dewi Williams Eilir Jones Vauxhall Nova 1F 12m 13s
30 Mark Williams Rob Jones Vauxhall Astra GTE 1F 15m 12s
31 Rhonwen Hardy Jason Hardy Ford Escort XR3i 1F 19m 15s
32 David Atkin Dewi Jones Toyota Corolla 1F 21m 16s
33 Andrew Matthews Colin Jones Ford Fiesta XR2 1F 35m 12s
34 Gwyn M Jones Dylan Minnice Skoda Felicia 1F 30m 29s
35 Lee Rainford Terry Ledden Ford Sierra 1F 35m 12s
36 Dyfed Morgan John Evans Vauxhall Nova 1F 35m 40s
37 Dylan Williams Gavin Thompson Hillman Avenger 1F 38m 18s
38 Lee Evans Anthony Williams Vauxhall Nova 1F 42m 05s
39 Merfyn Williams Derwyn Roberts Vauxhall Astra 2F 06m 05s
40 Arwel Williams Steven Owen Ford Escort XR3i 2F 33m 45s
41 Tony Watkin Medwyn Evans Vauxhall Nova 2F 35m 12s
42 S E Humphreys Alwyn Jones Vauxhall Nova 2F 35m 35s
43 Ann Baines Andrew Baines Vauxhall Nova SR 2F 43m 00s
44 Iwan Llyr Jones Martin Chidley Ford Sierra 2F 44m 20s
45 Meredydd Jones Bryn Jones Peugeot 309 3F 25m 01s
46 Arwel V Jones Gareth Brew Vauxhall Nova 3F 34m 13s
47 John Broadhurst Gareth Williams Ford Escort 4F 28m 07s
48 Robert Jones Geraint Jones Peugeot 205 7F 19m 03s
49 Darren Preater Clwyd Davies Ford Escort 7F 35m 33s
50 Stephen Dukes Keith Jones Ford Escort XR3i 9F 21m 06s
51 Iwan Eddy Aaron Williams Vauxhall Nova 11F 45m 49s