rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Llyn 2003

Sponsored by Express Motors Commercials

Harlech & District Motor Club

29th/30th March 2003

Clerk of the Course: Chris Evans

Route: 140 Miles

Maps: 123

Starters: 75

Winners: Gerallt Davies/Owen Dodd (Ford Escort)

A storming drive over the first section of the Rali Llyn ensured that Gerallt Davies/Owen Dodd won the popular Harlech & District MC road rally.

Rali Llyn 2003

The section was timed to the minute and Davies/Dodd, who were competing in the highly successful Malcolm Walters Hire Escort, were the only crew to clean it. By the petrol halt they had built up a lead of almost two minutes and this allowed them to ease off in the latter stages of the 140 mile event to conserve tyres.

Alan Jôs, who has won the Llyn on four occasions in the past, guided Carwyn Evans to second place, fifty seconds down on the winners at the Finish.

Haydn Davies/Paul Roberts were third in their Impreza. They could have won but had had two minutes added to their penalty total for a give way offence. Brynli Thomas/Steve Herbert continued their highly successful campaign for the North Western Championship by bringing their Peugeot 205 into fourth place, although they were glad to have made the Finish as they had a overheating bearing causing them concern.

Top seeds Steven Roberts/Darren Garrod struggled with a Corolla that lacked power, brakes, handling, spotlights and third gear. They survived to claim sixth place.

Howard Price/Carl Williamson, had a short event, their Astra succumbing to engine problems on just the second section. Dave Jones/Baz Green were heading for a top ten finish when their Astra broke a drive shaft on the last section; they struggled to the Finish and claimed 22nd place.

There was a close battle for the Semi-Expert class with Dewi Williams/Bethan Roberts taking the win and eighth overall just in front of Valentine Rally winners Endaf Wilson/Barry Griffiths. The latter crew had lost time after hitting a rock on the section after Petrol.

Rali Llyn 2003
Second Placed: Carwyn Evans/Alan Jôs (Toyota Corolla)
Photograph: Eric Dumbill

In contrast Bryn Jones/Dewi Roberts were eight minutes clear of their nearest rivals in the Novice Class.

Gwynfor Roberts/Peter Morris (Peugeot 205) were classified in 13th place; they had lost time after mispalcing the sheet they required for recording DSO signatures.

Merfyn Williams/Derwyn Roberts (Vauxhall Astra) finished in 29th position after picking up a fail at the finish of the penultimate section of the night. Stuart Kelso/Eilir Jones (Peugeot 205) were one position behind; their fail was a result of them having misplotted a passage control in the first half.

There was a rare retirement for Noel Hughes/Gwawr Hughes as their Saab 96 ground to a halt on the second section with a severe misfire. Transmission failure accounted for the Escort of Alan Parry/John Richardson, while a broken exhaust on their Golf led to Steven Guest/Rob Guest withdrawing.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Gerallt Davies Owen Dodd Ford Escort 7m 07s
2 Carwyn Evans Alan Jôs Toyota Corolla 7m 56s
3 Haydn Davies Paul Roberts Subaru Impreza 8m 39s
4 Brynli Thomas Steve Herbert Peugeot 205 GTi 10m 12s
5 Elfyn Richards Daniel Richards VW Golf GTi 10m 46s
6 Steven Roberts Darren Garrod Toyota Corolla 10m 54s
7 John Robyns Alan Parry Peugeot 205 12m 47s
8 Dewi Williams Bethan Roberts Vauxhall Nova 13m 05s
9 Dewi John Williams Michael Evans Peugeot 205 13m 43s
10 Endaf Wilson Barry Griffiths Peugeot 205 13m 58s
11 Robert Jones Eifion Thomas Peugeot 205 13m 59s
12 Harold Evans Edgar Jones Audi Quattro 14m 47s
13 Gwynfor Roberts Peter Morris Peugeot 205 GTi 15m 23s
14 Medwyn Jones Wayne Allen Talbot Sunbeam 17m 31s
15 Wyn Williams Gwyn Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 19m 09s
16 Rhonwen Hardy Jason Hardy Ford Escort XR3i 21m 33s
17 Bryn Jones Dewi G Roberts Ford Sierra 22m 51s
18 Alan Roberts Paul Jones Ford Escort 25m 38s
19 John Broadhurst Gareth Williams Ford Escort 26m 39s
20 Iwan ap Llyfnwy Bleddyn Jones VW Golf 27m 17s
21 Steven Guest Robert Guest VW Golf 30m 25s
22 Dave Jones Baz Green Vauxhall Astra 33m 59s
23 Geraint Jones Gareth Jones Vauxhall Nova 35m 18s
24 Rhys Roberts Philip Todd Austin Mini 35m 32s
25 Nick Johnson Gerallt Joneses Ford Escort 35m 57s
26 Dafydd Edwards Keith Jones Vauxhall Astra 39m 28s
27 Stephen Dukes Tim Rice Ford Escort 42m 31s
28 Steve Nash Chris Cooper-Jones Morris Mini 54m 05s
29 Merfyn Williams Derwyn Roberts Vauxhall Astra 1F 15m 35s
30 Stuart Kelso Eilir Jones Peugeot 205 1F 18m 20s
31 Steven J Williams Geoff Williams Peugeot 205 1F 25m 54s
32 Iwan Williams Gwion Pryderi Ford Escort 1F 27m 21s
33 Steven Roberts Robin Williams Seat Ibiza 1F 29m 43s
34 Iwan Jones Rhys Williams Ford Sierra 1F 33m 35s
35 Danny Postlethwaite Meirion Roberts Peugeot 205 1F 50m 25s
36 Steve Price Cyril Jones Toyota Corolla 2F 17m 47s
37 Mark Williams Rob Jones Subaru Legacy 2F 27m 37s
38 Huw Parry Christopher Jones Mitsubishi Colt 2F 34m 22s
39 Rhys Jones Alwyn Roberts Peugeot 205 2F 36m 39s
40 Lloyd Owen Gwilym Owen Peugeot 309 GTi 2F 38m 23s
41 Elfed Jones Eifion Jones Peugeot 205 3F 43m 37s
42 Dylan Williams Martin Chidley Hillman Avenger 4F 40m 49s
43 Wil Roberts Eifion Jones Peugeot 205 8F 45m 18s
44 Irfon Hughes Matthew Hughes Peugeot 205 8F 45m 31s
45 Gwynfor Jones Gwyn Williams Vauxhall Cavalier 11F 35m 36s
46 Robat Pozzi Kevin Thompson Peugeot 205 15F 29m 51s
47 Selwyn Pritchard Gareth Cotgrove Peugeot 205 17F 61m 12s