rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Red Kite Stages 2001

Sponsored by Chequered Flag Models of Swansea

Amman & District Motor Club

6th January 2001

Clerk of the Course: Gareth Thomas

Stages: 11 (45 Stage Miles)

Venue: Epynt, Crychan & Halfway

Starters: 32

Winners: Wynne Pickersgill/Shaun O’Gorman (Subaru Impreza)

Red Kite Stages 2001
Winners: Wynne Pickersgill/Shaun O’Gorman (Subaru Impreza)

Wynne Pickersgill/Shaun O'Gorman made a good start to their 2001 season by taking victory in their Subaru Impreza on the Red Kite Stages. However, having fought a tight battle with daylong leaders Graham Middleton/John Morgan, they left it until the last of the event's eleven stages to take the lead.

The Amman & District MC rally was a new event on the Welsh calendar and used the gravel tracks on the Epynt Ranges and the army-owned sections of Halfway and Crychan Forests.

The rally was well received by competitors with a high standard of organisation, smooth roads and a compact route.

Red Kite Stages 2001

After seven stages Middleton/Morgan had managed to eek out a 17 second lead in their Hyundai Kit Car, however Pickersgill/O'Gorman then took fastest times on the remaining four stages to come home six seconds clear.

Robert Swann/Ken Bowman were the only crew to match the leaders' pace, but were principally using the rally as a test session in preparation for an assault on the BTRDA Production Cup. After a morning of trying out different suspension settings on their Mitsubishi Lancer they finished the rally in third place.

Paul Alexander/Mike Panes entered the event as a shake down for the following month's Wyedean and were justly pleased to bring their Peugeot 106 into fourth place at the Finish.

Julian Reynolds/Ieaun Thomas had held fourth in their Honda Civic with one stage to go, but an off on the final test cost them a minute and a place.

The over 2000cc class was taken by the Escort of Martin Kenny/Steve Quine, who survived a spin on Stage Six , to come home eleventh overall.

Meanwhile the Under 1300cc award fell to Gary Barlow/Alex Reynolds, who were getting acquainted with their newly acquired Astra prior to competing in that season's Formula First series.

Geraint Mills/Johnny 'Tad' Evans were debuting their newly acquired Ford Sapphire Cosworth. Unfortunately their rally ended in a ditch on Stage Two in Halfway.

Red Kite Stages 2001
Second Placed: Graham Middleton/John Morgan (Hyundai Kit Car)

Mandy Roberts/Cliff Simmons broke a timing belt on their Peugeot 106 on Stage Six. That stage also the demise of Michael Jones/Ian Harrop, who went off the road at the flying finish of the stage, while Ed Lloyd/Ian Moseley crashed their TR8 on the penultimate stage.

Ben Briant had Blue Peter presenter Connie Huq as co-driver in his Astra, she was collecting signatures for a license upgrade in preparation for an attempt on the Swedish Rally. A very steady run saw them finish 27th and last, but this meant that the vital signature was collected from the C-of-C.


Pos Driver Co-Driver Car Penalty
1 Wynne Pickersgill Shaun O'Gorman Subaru Impreza 51m 05s
2 Graham Middleton John Morgan Hyundai Kit Car 51m 11s
3 Robert Swann Ken Bowman Mitsubishi Lancer Evo3 51m 53s
4 Paul Alexander Mike Panes Peugeot 106 GTi 53m 16s
5 Julian Reynolds Ieuan Thomas Honda Civic 53m 26s
6 Peter Beards Guy Weaver Vauxhall Astra 53m 54s
7 Gareth Lloyd David Jones Ford Escort 54m 06s
8 Rhidian Jones Matthew Picton Subaru Impreza 54m 16s
9 Wyn Hughes Paul Jenkins Toyota Starlet 54m 43s
10 Craig Middleton Nathan Parry Hyundai Kit Car 54m 56s
11 Martin Kenny Steve Quine Ford Escort 55m 34s
12 Darran Powell Gareth Shell Ford Escort 56m 45s
13 Duncan Williams Mark Freeman Peugeot 106 57m 33s
14 Trev Baynham Jon Roberts Ford Escort 58m 05s
15 Gary Barlow Alex Reynolds Vauxhall Astra 58m 22s
16 Alun Evans Carl Williamson Ford Escort 59m 20s
17 Graham Davies Gary Powell Talbot Sunbeam 59m 32s
18 Martin Mansell Tony Phillips Ford Escort 1h 00m 00s
19 Polly Patti Dylan Jenkins Ford Escort 1h 00m 06s
20 Bill Robertson Dave Taylor Ford Escort Mexico 1h 02m 01s
21 Danny Kent Rebecca Higgins Peugeot 106 1h 02m 19s
22 T J Crosbie Bob Kelly Peugeot 106 1h 02m 45s
23 Andrew Lawson Dale Chappel Ford Escort 1h 02m 53s
24 Gareth Bevan Neil Bevan Daihatsu Cuore 1h 02m 59s
25 John Evans Chris Long Ford Escort 1h 04m 05s
26 Paul Lomas David Bryons Ford Escort 1h 04m 08s
27 Ben Briant Konnie Huq Vauxhall Astra 1h 08m 51s