rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Red Kite Stages 2003

Sponsored by Swansea Model Centre

Amman & District Motor Club

5th January 2003

Clerk of the Course: Gareth Thomas

Stages: 9 (45 Gravel Stage Miles)

Venue: Epynt, Halfway & Crychan

Starters: 84

Winners: Julian Reynolds/Ieuan Thomas (Subaru Impreza)

Julian Reynolds/Ieaun Thomas maintained their superb 2002 form into the New Year by taking victory on the Red Kite Stages.

Red Kite Stages 2003

The Amman and District MC organised event used 45 stage miles in the forestry on the Epynt Military Ranges. A heavy overnight frost made for slippery conditions. The passage of cars making the going even more treacherous in the afternoon as the morning run simply polished the road surfaces. One particular corner on the final stage in Halfway caused problems for seemingly every car including the winners.

Reynolds led throughout the day, although he faced an initial challenge from the Impreza WRC of Bob Ceen/Alisair Douglas. Ceen, who was using the Red Kite as a shakedown for an attempt on the ANCRO Championship, took two fastest stage times. However he wasn’t to figure in the final placings as, having dropped to third on SS6, he retired with mechanical problems on SS8.

Reynolds was fastest on four of the rally’s nine stages and came home a comfortable winner, exactly a minute in front of the Impreza WRC of Phil Morgan/Martin Douglas. Morgan had a huge spin on SS3, dropping to sixth place as a result, however three fastest stage times later in the day propelled him to the runner up spot.

Gary Midwinter/Martin Saunders overcame anti-lag and gear selection problems to take third, while Robert Gough/Patrick Walsh recovered from a puncture on SS1, which tore off a brake pipe, to finish fourth.

It was an excellent day for Geoff Jones Motorsport, not only did they prepare the car for the winners, but also for Nigel Griffiths/Andrew Owens who won the Group N class and for Tim Jones/Don James who were first home in the 1600cc to 2000cc category. Stuart Clarke/Cliff Simmons lost over a minute with an off on SS1 but still managed to win the over 2-litre category in their Escort. Ieaun Rowlands/Keith Davies won the up to 1600cc class, while Rhidian Jones/Matthew Picton took the small car category.

Retirements due to mechanical problems were comparatively low, however offs accounted for a number of crews. Most notably amongst these were Dave Brick (Escort), Wyn ‘Spot’ Hughes (Starlet), Gareth Jones (Proton) and Darren Powell (Escort).

The Red Kite was the first round of the Millers Oils Welsh Clubmans Championship. With points being awarded for class positions, Tim Jones, Andrew Kenny and Dorian Rees shared the series lead after the event.


The Red Kite Stages was the second round of the Peugeot 206 Winter Series and for the first eight of the event’s nine stages Richard Sykes was the leading series contenders. However an off into a log pile on the final stage cost the Midlander thirty seconds and gave Leon Pesticcio the win.

Pesticcio, partnered by Howard Davies, had started cautiously but sped up after SS2 to enter the last stage in a position to profit from Sykes’ problems. Olly Marshall finished in third place having taken fastest time on SS1, but then lost ground after hitting a log on SS3, the impact bending the 206’s rear wheel.

Stuart Jones spun four times on SS1, dropping almost a minute to the leaders in the process. He finished fourth, the spins costing him a podium place.

The series leader prior to ther Red Kite had been Phillip Morrow, however an off on SS3 bent a bottom arm on the 206, the part could not be replaced within the time allowed at the following service and the Lisburn driver was out of the rally.

The Red Kite results meant that Pesticcio and Sykes entered the final round, the Sunseeker, sharing the series lead.


Pos Driver Co-Driver Car Penalty
1 Julian Reynolds Ieuan Thomas Subaru Impreza 47m 57s
2 Phil Morgan Martin Douglas Subaru Impreza WRC 98 48m 57s
3 Gary Midwinter Martin Saunders Ford Escort WRC 49m 18s
4 Robert Gough Patrick Walsh Mitsubishi Lancer 50m 05s
5 Ian Joel Graeme Wood Ford Escort Cosworth 50m 54s
6 Nigel Griffiths Andrew Owens Subaru Impreza 51m 11s
7 Bob Norgan Dave Saunders Ford Escort Cosworth 51m 36s
8 Andrew Kenny Gary Kenny Mitsubishi Lancer E3 52m 04s
9 Chris Bown Roger Bown Mitsubishi Lancer E4 52m 08s
10 Dorian Rees Eurig Evans Mitsubishi Lancer E7 52m 17s
11 Leon Pesticcio Howard Davies Peugeot 206 XSi 52m 34s
12 Phil Morgan Marc Jones Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 52m 34s
13 Richard Sykes Craig Parry Peugeot 206 XSi 52m 40s
14 David Short Richard Crossman Ford Sierra Cosworth 53m 01s
15 Damian Cole Bob Rose Mitsubishi Lancer E5 53m 42s
16 Olly Marshall Richard Edwards Peugeot 206 XSi 53m 49s
17 Stuart Clarke Cliff Simmons Ford Escort 53m 57s
18 Stuart Jones Andy Morgan Peugeot 206 XSi 54m 18s
19 Stuart Thomas Mark Kehrein Ford Sapphire Cosworth 54m 21s
20 Martin Evans Shaun O'Gorman Peugeot 206 XSi 54m 25s
21 Steven Finch Stanley Graham Ford Escort 54m 49s
22 Ian Godney Mike Bennett Subaru Impreza 54m 53s
23 Colin Minton Peter Henness Subaru Impreza 55m 03s
24 Ieuan Rowlands Keith Davies Ford Escort 55m 15s
25 Shane McCarthy Tony Mulcahy Peugeot 206 XSi 55m 22s
26 Barry Jordan Jamie Gratton-Smith Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 55m 22s
27 Sebastian Ling James Phillips Peugeot 206 XSi 55m 39s
28 Tim Jones Don James Ford Escort 56m 21s
29 Alun 'Timo' Evans Huw Williams Subaru Impreza 56m 25s
30 Ian Warren Ian Bevan Peugeot 206 XSi 56m 25s
31 Jon Tucker Scott Clevedon Peugeot 206 XSi 56m 35s
32 Duncan Williams Mark Freeman Peugeot 106 S16 56m 38s
33 Martin Kenny Dave Stocking Ford Escort 56m 57s
34 Rhidian Jones Matthew Picton Subaru Impreza 57m 07s
35 Frazer Martin Rachel Brockington Ford Escort Cosworth 57m 07s
36 Adrian Allen Mike Wilding Subaru Impreza 57m 16s
37 Lynsey Hansford Graham Roberts Ford Escort 57m 26s
38 James Belton Roland Llewellin Ford Escort 57m 47s
39 Tim Cowper Ashley Fowler Peugeot 206 XSi 57m 56s
40 Julian Howit Dave Price Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 58m 31s
41 Mandy Roberts Derek Davies Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 58m 43s
42 Nathan Davies James Dunning Vauxhall Nova 59m 08s
43 Andrew James Phill Thomas Ford Escort 59m 47s
44 Gary Jones Andy Oakes Toyota Corolla 59m 49s
45 Paul Lomas Barry Nixon Ford Escort Cosworth 1h 00m 01s
46 Jon Fox Jane Fox Mitsubishi Lancer E4 1h 00m 03s
47 John Evans Chris Long Ford Escort 1h 00m 12s
48 Ernie Beamish Richard Green Ford Escort Sport 1h 00m 19s
49 Simon Rees Daniel Mayo Ford Escort 1h 01m 06s
50 Neal James Kevin Jones Vauxhall Astra 1h 01m 26s
51 Edward James William Machin Vauxhall Nova GTE 1h 01m 50s
52 Anthony Hutchings Kevin Hutchings VW Golf 1h 02m 03s
53 Justin Pounder Philip Edwards Ford Escort 1h 02m 40s
54 Alan Walker Peter White Ford Escort 1h 02m 52s
55 Peter Hamer Niki Griffiths Talbot Sunbeam 1h 03m 01s
56 Chris Jones Peter Jones Ford Escort 1h 03m 13s
57 Nicholas White Robert Lloyd Ford Escort 1h 03m 18s
58 Granvile Cottle Neil Cook Ford Sierra Cosworth 1h 03m 44s
59 Graham Davies Gary Powell Talbot Sunbeam 1h 03m 49s
60 Clive Bayliss Steve Roderick Opel Manta A 1h 04m 40s
61 Andrew Lawson Dale Chappell Ford Escort 1h 04m 56s
62 Rodney Wilson Peter Leahy Peugeot 206 XSi 1h 05m 41s
63 Helen Smith Gareth Thomas Peugeot 106 Rallye 1h 05m 51s
64 Mark Thomas Mark Crisp Vauxhall Nova 1h 06m 45s
65 Scott Smith Nick Blyght Ford Escort 1h 07m 59s
66 Tristram Pearce Dave Cox Peugeot 205 GTi 1h 09m 22s
67 James Chappelle Peter Chappelle Morris Mini 1h 09m 30s
Trophy Rally - Stages 6 to 9
1 Justin Griffiths Penny Norman Subaru Impreza 24m 07s
2 Phillip Morrow Simon Morrow Peugeot 205 XSi 25m 50s
3 Steve Griggs Dave Lloyd Mini 1275 GT 31m 08s