rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Red Kite Stages 2004

Sponsored by Swansea Model Centre

Amman & District Motor Club

4th January 2004

Clerk of the Course: Gareth Thomas

Stages: 8 (45 Gravel Stage Miles)

Venue: Epynt, Halfway & Crychan

Starters: 80

Winners: Graham Middleton/John Morgan (Hyundai Accent WRC)

Graham Middleton/John Morgan took their newly acquired Hyundai Accent WRC to a clear win on the Red Kite Stages.

Red Kite Stages 2004

The Amman & District MC event, in its fourth year, used eight gravel stages, in its usual stamping ground, on and around the Epynt Ranges.

Middleton, who only took delivery of the WRC car on the day before the rally, secured fastest time on all eight test; beating the bogey twice on Route 60. Although he still felt that he wasn’t getting the maximum out of the car, he did find that the soft compound Matador tyres suited both the car and the slippery conditions.

Dorian Rees/Patrick Walsh put in an excellent performance in their Group N Impreza to take second place, in the latter stages coming to within a few seconds of Middleton’s stage times. John Perrott (Mitsubishi Lancer E5) had a steady event to finish third in his first outing since his major crash on the Woodpecker. Lorna Smith (Mitsubishi Lancer E4) took another impressive result with fourth place on her first visit to Epynt.

Top seed Phil Morgan (Subaru Impreza WRC) lost three minutes with an off on SS1, there was no significant damage and he continued, but only to roll out of the event on SS5. Mick Jones also rolled on SS1 but was still holding fourth place when his Lancer E3 was halted by gearbox problems after SS5.

The over two litre class was won by James Belton/Eurig Evans, the win coming despite an additional one minute penalty awarded for a jumped start. Reigning Miller Oils Welsh Clubmans Champions Tim Jones/Don James (Ford Escort) had a comfortable lead in Class 3 when they stopped with engine problems on SS7. Their demise allowed Duncan Goldsmith/Bryan Hull (Ford Escort) to take the class win, with Steven Finch/Stanley Graham (Ford Escort) just two seconds behind.

Duncan Williams/Mark Freeman had built up a three minute lead in Class 2 when the engine on their Peugeot 106 blew on SS7. Steve Roderick/Mick Wilcox (Toyota Corolla) thus inherited the class win. The small car class was won by the Mini Clubman of Steve Griggs/David Lloyd.

Jon Ingram/Andy Marchbank (Mitsubishi Lancer E3) had a 'big' off on a 60 left on SS1. They managed to drive out of the stage, but the car was beyond repair. The throttle cable on the Escort Cosworth of Dennis Parry/Huw Lewis broke on the first stage and put them out. Also on the retirement list on the first test were Geraint Mills/Jonny 'Tad' Evans (Opel Manta), their car breaking its drive shaft.

Andrew Kenny/Gary Kenny lasted until SS6 before the engine on the Lancer E3 failed.


Ieuan Rowlands/Kelvin Savage totally dominated the second round of the Peugeot 206 Winter Cup, coming home over two minues clear of their nearest championship challengers. Rowlands took fastest time on all eight stages and ended the day in seventh place in the overall event, the only two wheel drive car in the top ten. For the rest of the 206 field it was a demoralising display.

Red Kite Stages 2004
Winners: Ieuan Rowlands/Kelvin Savage (Peugeot 206 XSi)
Photograph: digitalmotorsport.co.uk

Tom Boardman/Craig Parry put up the greatest challenge to Rowlands, but by the time they were forced out after four stages, with a bent steering rack, they were already thirty seconds behind.

Gareth McHale/Clive Jenkins were then left as the only crew remotely in touch with Rowlands’ pace, they finished in what on other days would have been a creditable eleventh place overall. The rest of the field were over six minutes down on the winners.

Other than Boardman, the only other retirement in the 206 category were Paul Jones/Steve Smallbone, who retired on SS3 with clutch problems.

Rowlands started the Red Kite as the Winter Cup series leader having won the opening round, the Galloway Hills Rally, in December. He left the Red Kite as Winter Cup Champion, with one round, the Sunseeker, still remaining.


Pos Driver Co-Driver Car Penalty
1 Graham Middleton John Morgan Hyundai Accent WRC 47m 32s
2 Dorian Rees Patrick Walsh Subaru Impreza 48m 45s
3 John Perrott Graham Hopewell Mitsubishi Lancer E5 50m 16s
4 Lorna Smith Dave Robson Mitsubishi Lancer E4 50m 49s
5 John Morgan Llinos Jones-Edwards Mitsubishi Lancer E7 50m 59s
6 Ieuan Rowlands Kelvin Savage Peugeot 206 XSi 51m 29s
7 Iwan Rees Aled Rees Subaru Impreza 51m 42s
8 Andy Pawley Tim Sturla Mitsubishi Lancer E6 53m 00s
9 Owain Beaman Phil Peak Mitsubishi Lancer E5 53m 16s
10 Damon Harvey Aled Davies Mitsubishi Lancer E8 53m 22s
11 Gareth McHale Clive Jenkins Peugeot 206 XSi 53m 32s
12 James Belton Eurig Evans Ford Escort RS 53m 48s
13 Martin Kenny Dave Stocking Ford Escort 54m 46s
14 Duncan Goldsmith Bryan Hull Ford Escort 55m 12s
15 Steve Finch Stanley Graham Ford Escort 55m 14s
16 Aled Evans Eryl Evans Ford Sierra XR4x4 55m 25s
17 Colin Minton Peter Henness Subaru Impreza 55m 47s
18 Mark Sheppard Graeme Bolt Vauxhall Astra Sport 55m 59s
19 Stuart Clarke Cliff Simmons Ford Escort 56m 01s
20 Neil Andrew Mark Spavin Ford Sierra XR4x4 56m 29s
21 Stuart Thomas Mark Kehrein Ford Escort 56m 29s
22 Wyn Hughes Elgan Davies Toyota Starlet 56m 37s
23 Andrew Graham Peter Brennan Ford Sierra Cosworth 56m 47s
24 Huw Jeffreys Avarina Connor Ford Escort 56m 48s
25 Bob Gibbons Den Golding Ford Escort RS2000 56m 54s
26 Steve Blunt Bob Duck Peugeot 306 56m 58s
27 Lynsey Hansford Graham Roberts Ford Escort 57m 14s
28 Toby Adam Byron Jones Ford Sierra 57m 18s
29 Tony Rees Geraint Thomas Ford Escort 57m 29s
30 Paul Kiely Eugene Donnelly Peugeot 206 XSi 57m 33s
31 James Robertson Mike Rollo Peugeot 206 XSi 57m 35s
32 Alun 'Timo' Evans Howard Davies Subaru Impreza 57m 55s
33 Maurice Leach Nigel Gilbride Ford Escort 58m 12s
34 Michael O'Brien Simon Coates Peugeot 206 XSi 58m 22s
35 Steve Roderick Mick Wilcox Toyota Corolla 58m 31s
36 Richard Philipson Brian Cammack Peugeot 206 XSi 59m 16s
37 John Gibson Dave Taylor Ford Escort Mexico 59m 27s
38 Ed Lloyd Eric Tong MG Metro V8 59m 48s
39 John Evans Simon Anthony Ford Escort 59m 49s
40 Bary Horan Simon Mills Peugeot 206 XSi 59m 58s
41 Iwan Evans Raymond Davies Proton Persona 1h 00m 00s
42 Gary Morgan Paul Jenkins Subaru Impreza 1h 00m 22s
43 Pete Hamer Niki Griffiths Talbot Sunbeam 1h 00m 29s
44 Mike Roberts Dai Roberts Peugeot 205 GTi 1h 00m 32s
45 Andrew Lawson Gareth Shell Ford Escort 1h 00m 57s
46 Gareth Nutt Kevin Haven Peugeot 205 GTi 1h 01m 23s
47 Simon Roberts Richard Smalley Peugeot 205 GTi 1h 02m 14s
48 Granville Cottle Lisa Evans Talbot Sunbeam 1h 03m 32s
49 Wayne Bonser Richard Aston Ford Escort RS2000 1h 04m 59s
50 Clive Bayliss Helen Giles Opel Manta 1h 05m 02s
51 Steve Griggs David Lloyd Mini Clubman 1h 05m 19s
52 Trev Baynham Jon Roberts Ford Escort 1h 05m 26s
53 Andrew Lewis Tim Samuel Peugeot 205 GTi 1h 05m 32s
54 Clare Samuel Sarah Owen VW Polo 1h 05m 58s
55 Micah Morris Tom Henderson Peugeot 309 SRi 1h 06m 22s
56 Adrian Mayall Robert Hayden Alfa Romeo 33 1h 06m 46s
57 James Chappelle Peter Chappelle Talbot Sunbeam 1h 06m 49s
58 Mark Chappelle Justin Davies Peugeot 205 Rallye 1h 07m 05s
59 Simon Mackay Tim Jones Ford Escort 1h 07m 28s