rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Resolution Road Rally 2002

Sponsored by Andagi T-Vision

Hart Motor Club

19th/20th January 2002

Clerk of the Course: Dr John Upham

Route: 180 Miles

Maps: 185 & 186

Starters: 34

Winners: Mike Biss/Cath Woodman (Vauxhall Astra)

Mike Biss/Cath Woodman reinforced their reputation for excelling on rallies that have difficult navigation by taking a dominant victory on the Resolution Road Rally. The pairing finished the 180 mile route free of any penalties; it was the third time that they’d won the Hart MC organised event.

Resolution Road Rally 2002

The event had attracted significant backing from the television production company Andagi T-Vision. The rally was a round of Rally 2002, South Western and London Counties Championships.

With Ken Pape/John Stringer non-starting, 34 crews tackled the very slippery lanes and tracks of Surrey and North Hampshire.

The tricky conditions caught out a number of crews, most notably Phil Kendall/Andy Coshan and Phil Collings/Mark Collings. Both crews retiring after going off the road, although no major harm was sustained in either case. However Wally Holder/Bill Mexson did cause serious damage to their Mini when they went straight on at a T-junction and collided with a tree.

The only crew to match the winners’ navigational performance were the Semi-Expert pairing of Rob Dance/Graham Dance, they picked up 13 minutes time penalties to finish in a clear second place.

The top seeds Steve Cole/Bob Blows may have made a fight of it but for an uncharacteristic error which saw them miss out a loop and two codeboards on the first section. They eventually finished third.

Matt Fowle/PRAR finished on exactly the same penalty as Cole/Blows but had to settle for fourth place after being a minute slower over the opening section. They had experienced intermitent brake fade throughout the event and also had no handbrake.

Resolution Road Rally 2002
Runners Up: Rob Dance/Graham Dance (Peugeot 205 GTi)

Chris Moore/Tom Jenkins secured fifth place overall and the Semi-Expert class in their Peugeot 106. The winners of the Nightwatchman Rally, Mike East/Roger Davidson, swapped seats for the Resolution and were rewarded with winning the Expert class.

The dilemma facing the organisers regarding at what level of difficulty the navigational instructions should be set was made clear by the fact that although the winners cleaned the rally, only two Novice crews completed the event - Geoff Skillen/Ian Collings leading home Clive Anstey/Verity Anstey.

A Clubmans event, with easier navigation, ran alongside the main rally and this contest was won by the Audi 90 of Ray Merritt/Steve Barber, with the Mini of Eric Richardson/Philip Singer second.

Of the 34 starters 23 made it to the Finish at Longparish near Andover.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Mike Biss Cath Woodman Vauxhall Astra 0m 00s
2 Rob Dance Graham Dance Peugeot 205 GTi 13m 00s
3 Steve Cole Bob Blows Peugeot 205 GTi 22m 00s
4 Matt Fowle PRAR Peugeot 205 GTi 22m 00s
5 Chris Moore Tom Jenkins Peugeot 106 33m 00s
6 Ian Orford Bob Jones Mazda 323 Turbo 52m 00s
7 Roger Davidson Mike East Peugeot 205 GTi 56m 00s
8 Doug Kingsley Ben Greenwood Vauxhall Nova GTE 1F 33m 00s
9 Robert Fenn Richard Dix Volvo 1F 45m 00s
10 Darren Dixon Pete Barnard Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 93m 00s
11 Gavin Braddock Chris Hill Vauxhall Belmont 2F 103m 00s
12 Oliver Smith David Cole BMC Mini 4F 80m 00s
13 Peter Pratt Ryan Pickering Triumph TR2 6F 96m 00s
14 Peter Noad Peter Cox Audi 80 GT 6F 99m 00s
15 Nick Powter Glyn Williams Vauxhall Astra 10F 148m 00s
16 Geoff Skillen Ian Collings Ford Mondeo 11F 77m 00s
17 Clive Anstey Verity Anstey Vauxhall Nova 13F 114m 00s
18 Paul Ross Andy Wooller Peugeot 205 GTi 22F 90m 00s


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Ray Merritt Steve Barber Audi 90 CD 1F 70m 00s
2 Eric Richardson Philip Shingler Mini Clubman 2F 236m 00s
3 Bob Wisniewski Paul Lettington Vauxhall Nova 11F 103m 00s
4 Jason Mortlock Bill Smith Ford Escort 23F 143m 00s
5 Colin Hiscock Christopher Foxley Skoda Favorit 24F 158m 00s