rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Ryemoor Trophy Rally 2002

Sponsored by Prontaprint

Malton Motor Club

16th/17th March 2002

Clerk of the Course: Dick Wardle

Route: 150 Miles

Maps: 99 100 & 105

Starters: 27

Winners: Jon Lawson/Chris Pringle (Subaru Legacy)

Jon Lawson/Chris Pringle bought a Subaru Legacy on the afternoon before the Ryemoor Trophy Rally and promptly used it to win the second running event.

Ryemoor Trophy Rally 2002

The Malton Motor Club organised rally was a round of the ANCC Road Rally Championship and used a 150 mile route in North Yorkshire.

Lawson/Pringle were the pace setters throughout the rally and finished four minutes ahead of second placed crew. The four wheel drive of the Legacy being particularly useful through the critical section in Roper Forest.

Jamie Gratton-Smith/Richard Hage were second in their Peugeot 205, while John Dimbleby/David Dimbleby continued their good run of results with third place. The previous winners of the event Sandi Taylor/Paul Taylor came in fourth. Andy Beaumont/Mike Petch took the Masters award, finishing in fifth place in their Proton Satria.

Stage rally regulars Curly Haigh/Sally Peacock entered the event in their chase vehicle, a Ford Escort 1.8 Diesel Van and finished eighth, just behind the highest placed novice crew, Paul Metcalfe/Stuart Wright. Metcalfe/Wright were another crew to be competing in a newly acquired car, a Nova SRi.

Peter Reeson/Roger Hage had been expected to go well but a missed code board on the very first section meant they could only manage 18th place at the end.

There were only two retirements among the 27 starters, these being the Toyota Corolla of Mark Whitford/Steve Porter which suffered rear diff problems and the Subaru Impreza WRX of top Eighties crew Clive Sissons/Kevin Savage which went out with clutch failure.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Jon Lawson Chris Pringle Subaru Legacy 7m 53s
2 Jamie Gratton-Smith Roger Hage Peugeot 205 GTi 11m 44s
3 John Dimbleby David Dimbleby Ford Fiesta XR2 13m 14s
4 Sandie Taylor Paul Taylor Peugeot 205 GTi 14m 40s
5 Andy Beaumont Steve Petch Proton Satria 14m 59s
6 Gavin Smith Mike Ogram Peugeot 205 GTi 17m 06s
7 Paul Metcalfe Stuart Wright Vauxhall Nova SRi 17m 13s
8 Curly Haigh Sally Peacock Ford Escort Van 17m 55s
9 David Tubman John Tubman Peugeot 205 GTi 18m 31s
10 Andy Whittaker Charlie Tynan Peugeot 205 GTi 19m 42s