rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Ryemoor Trophy Rally 2003

Sponsored by Prontaprint

Malton Motor Club

22nd/23rd March 2003

Clerk of the Course: Graham Willcock

Route: 135 Miles

Maps: 99 100 & 105

Starters: 34

Winners: Steve Featherstone/Mike Ogram (Ford Sierra)

Steve Featherstone/Mike Ogram took their Ford Sierra to a closely fought victory on Malton MC’s Ryemoor Trophy Rally.

Ryemoor Trophy Rally 2003

The event, which received support from Prontaprint, Middlesborough, used a 135 mile route in North Yorkshire.

Bob Marshall/Roger Hage were the fastest crew of the night and would have won the rally by just eight seconds however they missed a code board on the Osmotherley Moor section and the resultant fail dropped them to twelfth place.

Peter Reeson/Richard Hage and Terry Martin/Simon Bentley also missed the same board. Top seeds Steve Webster/Iain Tullie missed another board on the same section, which meant that all top four starters finished with fails.

Featherstone/Ogram however were on the pace all night and matched this with accurate map reading to take the win. Dan Robinson/Ian Gibbins took the runner up spot and the win in the Experts class.

The 2002 winners, Jon Lawson/Chris Pringle, could also have won, but a four minute wrong slot leading to STC23 meant that they had to settle for third. Andy Whittaker/Charlie Tynan made the same error and finished seventh. Andy Beaumont/Mike Petch also went wrong at that point but a missed board in addition put them well down the order.

There was a tight battle for the win in the Novice class, with two brothers in the rival crews. At the finish Cameron Colls/Matty Fox brought their Honda Civic into tenth place, just twenty-three seconds ahead of Antony Baren/Neil Colls in a Peugeot 205.

Of the thirty-four starters, all but two made it to the Finish.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Steve Featherstone Mike Ogram Ford Sierra 9m 20s
2 Dan Robinson Ian Gibbins Peugeot 205 GTi 10m 07s
3 Jon Lawson Chris Pringle Subaru Legacy 12m 45s
4 Sandie Taylor Paul Taylor Peugeot 205 GTi 14m 38s
5 John Dimbleby David Dimbleby Ford Fiesta XR2 14m 47s
6 Paul Metcalfe Stuart Wright Vauxhall Nova SRi 15m 32s
7 Andy Whittaker Charlie Tynan Peugeot 205 GTi 16m 00s
8 Dave Chapman David Taylor Peugeot 205 GTi 16m 29s
9 Curly Haigh Sally Peacock Ford Escort Van 16m 32s
10 Cameron Colls Matty Fox Honda Civic 23m 50s
11 Antony Baren Neil Colls Peugeot 205 GTi 24m 13s
12 Bob Marshall Roger Hage Vauxhall Corsa 1F 9m 12s
13 Steve Webster Iain Tullie Subaru impreza 1F 11m 24s
14 Peter Reeson Richard Hage Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 14m 20s
15 Terry Martin Simon Bentley Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 14m 28s
16 Malcolm Holdsworth Richard Holdsworth Toyota Corolla 1F 15m 41s
17 David Tubman John Tubman Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 16m 23s
18 Andy Beaumont Steve Petch Proton Satria 1F 19m 33s
19 Graham Burton Graham Gardner Proton Satria 1F 21m 34s
20 Bill Chadwick David Wilson Toyota Celica 1F 22m 24s
21 David Howell Adam Roper Opel Manta 1F 23m 32s
22 Tim Rogers Roger Cunningham Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 24m 20s
23 Kevin Hutchinson Mike Angove Vauxhall Astra 1F 25m 19s
24 Jon Howett Hagis Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 26m 43s
25 Trevor Faulkner Chris Faulkner Ford Orion 1F 35m 18s
26 Colin Barker Ian Beech Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 61m 54s
27 Alastair Crosby Jason Turner Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 22m 02s
28 Simon Tate Richard Wilson Opel Manta 3F 23m 06s
29 Martyn Langley John Thornton Ford Escort 5F 24m 52s
30 Craig Whitehead Lee Hudson Ford Fiesta XR2 5F 36m 00s
31 Mark Casey Glyn Casey Vauxhall Nova 6F 55m 37s
32 Roger Stoneley Lee Curtis VauxhalL Astra 28F 92m 59s