rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Saw and Weld Novice Road Rally 2000

Sponsored by Saw and Weld Ltd

Telford Auto Club

30th September/1st October 2000

Clerk of the Course: Kevin Hutchings

Route: 90 Miles

Maps: 126 & 127

Starters: 28

Winners: Claire Evans/Allen Hart (Vauxhall Astra)

Claire Evans/Allen Hart took a comfortable win on Telford AC's Saw & Weld Novice Road Rally. The pair had swapped the Nova they'd campaigned previously for a more powerful Astra and the upgrade certainly seemed to work. By the end of the first section they'd established a healthy lead and then cleaned the remaining two sections to come home over three minutes clear of the field.

Saw & Weld Novice Rally 2000
Claire Evans & Allen Hart receive their trophies from Kev Hutchings

The ninety mile event was the third road rally organised by Telford AC during the year. Entries were limited to Novices and Beginners only.

Second place was taken by the Mini of Joe Ivy/Owen Turner, who were almost five minutes in front of the third placed Escort of Richard Jordan/Robert Bernard.

The highest placed Beginners, Paul Bunch/David Clayton, took fourth just 13 seconds shy of third place.

Of the 28 starters only 16 made it back to the Finish, among those that failed to make it were Andrea and Christopher Wallet, who put their Audi 80 into a ditch, Gareth and Andrew Davies blew the engine on their Chevette, while the Astra of Lynne Rowe/Simon Rigby suffered altenator failure.

Unluckiest crew of the night were Mal Jones/Ian Fellows, who lost out on third place when they booked in early at a Time Control.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Claire Evans Allen Hart Vauxhall Astra 0m 44s
2 Joe Ivy Owen Turner Mini 4m 02s
3 Richard Jordan Robert Bernard Ford Escort 8m 41s
4 Paul Bunch David Clayton Ford Escort RS2000 8m 54s
5 Stephen Wynn Chris Wynn Peugeot 309 GTi 13m 39s
6 Steve Marpole Justin Beckett Opel Kadett 18m 57s
7 Brandon Smith Sharen Clarke Opel Manta 21m 53s
8 Russell Carson-Brown Dominic Delaney Ford Escort 27m 21s
9 Mal Jones Ian Fellows Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 7m 50s
10 Gary Thomas Matt Phipps Ford Escort 1F 30m 49s
11 Simon Bentley James Franklin Mini 2F 15m 53s
12 Alan Bradbury Geoff Evanson Ford Escort 3F 43m 33s
13 Chris Ransley Roger Titley Ford Escort RS2000 4F 16m 24s
14 Simon Gretton Jeremy Rogers Ford Fiesta XR2 11F 50m 22s
15 Joe Woodward Nikki Woodward Peugeot 205 12F 48m 10s
16 Daniel Toxhead TBA Ford Escort 16F 79m 45s