rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Shaw Trophy Rally 2002

Whickham & District Motor Club

28th/29th December 2002

Clerk of the Course: Richard Holdsworth

Route: 130 Miles

Maps: 80 81 & 87


Winners: Carl Hawkins/Iain Tullie (Vauxhall Nova)

Malcolm Holdsworth/Chris Pringle won the Shaw Trophy Rally, the first all night road rally to be held in the North-East of England for fifteen years. The Wickham and District MC event, which took place on the Saturday night between Christmas and New Year, used a 130 mile route starting from Bomdisle Garage in Stanhope.

Andy Whittaker/Charlie Tynan, competing in a Peugeot 205, had a one minute lead at the halfway point, but four minutes dropped on the Miggleswick Hairpins section saw them passed for the win by the Toyota Corolla of Holdsworth/Pringle. The victory margin was just over three minutes as the winners also picked up least penalties on the event’s single regularity section.

Third place went to Peter Gibson/Ian Maxwell in a Peugeot 205. The result meant that Gibson secured the Tyneside Motorsport Group drivers’ championship in his first year behind the wheel. Richard Holdsworth, Clerk of the Course of the Shaw Trophy, had accumulated sufficent points on previous events to be assured of the navigators’ title in the TMSG championship.

The winners of the Newcomers category were Bob Dennis/Andrew Roughland, who were competing in a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo5. The Historic class was won by the Mini of Reiner Stöckle/Ian Winter.

A ’12-car’ rally ran alongside the main event. This was designed for novices and crews in this class were provided with the route on marked maps prior to the start. The rally was won by Ant Wakefield/Paul Hughes despite them losing two gears in their Citreon ZX Diesel during the event.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Malcolm Holdsworth Chris Pringle Toyota Corolla 5m 30s
2 Andy Whittaker Charlie Tynan Peugeot 205 GTi 8m 33s
3 Peter Gibson Ian Maxwell Peugeot 205 GTi 14m 50s
4 David Tubman John Tubman Peugeot 205 GTi 19m 05s
5 Bill Chadwick Alan Edwards Toyota Celica GT 20m 12s