rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Shaw Trophy Rally 2003

Whickham & District Motor Club

30th/31st August 2003

Clerk of the Course: Richard Holdsworth

Route: 150 Miles

Maps: 80 81 & 87


Winners: Paul Schatz/Jerry Hettrick (Peugeot 309)

Wickham & District MC’s Shaw Trophy Rally saw the first victory of the year for Paul Schatz/Jerry Hettrick. The well organised event saw crews tackle a 150 mile route in Northumberland which included fifteen miles through the Keilder Forest.

Shaw Trophy Rally 2003

Schatz/Hettrick led all night in their Peugeot 309 and came home four minutes clear of the opposition. Steve Webster/Steve Porter were their closest challengers, a three minute wrong slot in the second half accounting for the majority of the their deficit to the winners. Ronnie Roughead/Ian Canavan had also been in with a shout until their Cortina GT suffered a broken halfshaft in Pundershaw.

Andy Whittaker/Charlie Tynan were third and took maximum points in the Tyneside Motorsport Group series. There was a close battle for fourth place, with Malcolm Holdsworth/Richard Todd taking the position from Malcolm Grizedale/Bob Hargreaves on the final sections.

Dave Lewis/Chris Pringle broke a clutch cable on the Escort early on in the proceedings, they persevered, having to be pushed started from each control until the starter motor failed after 100 miles.

Paul Hughes/John Tubman were competing in an Audi TT that was just six weeks old, however navigator illness meant that they could finish no higher than ninth.

The Newcomers Class, where competitors were supplied with simpler navigation, was won by the Peugeot 205 of Chris Dodds/Andrew Gibson, while the ’Summer Sizzler 12 car’ event that ran alongside the main rally, was won by the father and son pairing of Gordon Bradford/Adam Bradford, they were competing in a Citroen Picasso.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Paul Schatz Jerry Hettrick Peugeot 309 GTi 2m 37s
2 Steve Webster Steve Porter Subaru Impreza 6m 26s
3 Andy Whittaker Charlie Tynan Peugeot 205 GTi 8m 05s
4 Malcolm Holdsworth Richard Todd Toyota Corolla 10m 30s
5 Malcolm Grisdale Bob Hargreaves Subaru XT Coupe 13m 51s
6 Pete Tyson Neil Harrison Mini Cooper S 20m 04s
7 Peter Gibson Ian Maxwell Peugeot 205 Rallye 32m 07s
8 Bill Chadwick Alan Edwards Peugeot 205 GTi 34m 25s
9 Paul Hughes John Tubman Audi TT 35m 30s