rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Skoda Trophy Road Rally 2002

Sponsored by Clarks of Wrexham

Broughton & Bretton Car Club

11th/12th May 2002

Clerk of the Course: Gareth Price

Route: 120 Miles

Maps: 116

Starters: 75

Winners: Jason Stone/Paul Holmberg (Peugeot 205 GTi)

Broughton & Bretton MC ran their first road rally for some years and gained backing from their local Skoda dealers, Clarks of Wrexham, for the event.

Skoda Trophy Road Rally 2002
Winners: Jason Stone/Paul Holmberg (Peugeot 205 GTi)

They laid on a 120 mile route using many of the classic lanes on Map 116. Sixty crews started the event, which was a counter towards the North Western Rally Championship. with thirty-eight making the finish at the Pondarosa Restaurant at the head of the Horseshoe Pass.

The clear winners were Jason Stone/Paul Holmberg in their Peugeot 205, the car having had a new gearbox fitted after its retirement on the Night Owl. The pair came home two minutes clear of the field, a result that increased Holmberg's lead in the ANWCC series.

Second place had to be decided by reference to the tie-breaker clock timed to the second with Gary Jones/Dave Pitchford beating Ian Lloyd/Paul Dolby to the runner up spot, both crews were competing in Toyota Corollas. Fourth was taken by the VW Golf of Phil Turner/Nigel Roberts, who had to survive without spotlights for much of the rally.

A few crews had short events with Carl Hawkins/Iain Tullie failing to even make the Start, their Nova dropping a valve as they left scrutineering. Among the crews who retired on the opening section were; Brynli Thomas/Roger Evans (broken gearbox), Chris Rowlands/Jon Madoc Jones (sick engine), John Bossen/Scott Layton (power steering fluid leak leading to a fire) and Steve Prince/Dave Reed (clutch). Steve Massey/Steve Coupland retired later in the event when the fuel pump failed on their Peugeot 205.

Skoda Trophy Road Rally 2002
Winners: Merfyn Williams/Derwyn Roberts (Vauxhall Astra)

A number of crews who had been expected to do well picked up fails, largely due to missed signatures. Mal Acott/Dave Bates would have finished second but booked in a minute early in the first half, the unnecessary two minutes penalty would have dropped them to fourth at the finish but two code board that weren't signed for added two fails to their score and they were finally classified twenty-eighth. Richard Roe/Chris Ware and Dave Jones/Baz Green also picked up fails, the latter for boards on the very last section.

The Semi-Expert Class was won by the Astra of Merfyn Williams/Derwyn Roberts who finished tenth overall. Roger Powley, who famously campaigned a Porsche in the Seventies, was competing on his first rally in twenty years and, partnered by John Smith, took the runner up spot in the Semi-Expert category.

The Novice class was won by Steve Price/Tim Gill in a Corolla, they finished five minutes clear of their nearest class rivals, who were Stan Williams/Andrew Jones. The Standard Production Award was won by the Maestro of Paul Edwards/Cyril Jones.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Jason Stone Paul Holmberg Peugeot 205 GTi 4m 00s
2 Gary Jones Dave Pitchford Toyota Corolla 6m 00s
3 Ian Lloyd Paul Dolby Toyota Corolla 6m 00s
4 Phil Turner Nigel Roberts VW Golf GTi 7m 00s
5 Paul Edwards Cyril Jones MG Maestro 8m 00s
6 Simon Cottrell Marcus Watmough Subaru Impreza 8m 00s
7 Shaun Hardy Carl Williamson Toyota Corolla 8m 00s
8 Adrian Higman Steve Herbert VW Golf GTi 8m 00s
9 Paul Tod Iestyn ap Dafydd Peugeot 205 GTi 8m 00s
10 Chris Leach Jolyon Robinson Peugeot 205 GTi 10m 00s
11 Merfyn Williams Derwyn Roberts Vauxhall Astra 10m 00s
12 Wayne Elliott Nigel Nelson Toyota Celica GT4 11m 00s
13 Roger Powley John Smith Toyota Corolla 11m 00s
14 Jon Tedstone Steve Warton Peugeot 205 GTi 12m 00s
15 Simon Gibson Phil Sant Ford Escort 14m 00s
16 Medwin Jones Brian Stubbs Talbot Sunbeam 14m 00s
17 Steve Price Tim Gill Toyota Corolla 16m 00s
18 Lee Wilson Gareth Williams Peugeot 205 18m 00s
19 Stan Williams Andrew Jones Peugeot 309 GTi 18m 00s
20 Chris Robinson Alan Pemberton Toyota Celica GT 19m 00s
21 Trevor Pritchard Paul Hughes MG Maestro 20m 00s
22 Andrew Matthews Colin Jones Vauxhall Cavalier 24m 00s
23 John Morris Vicki Price Peugeot 309 24m 00s
24 Nick Banks Reg Gradden Citroen ZX 26m 00s
25 Peter Feucht Elwyn Pritchard Lada Riva 27m 00s
26 Keith Gush Lynn Gush Vauxhall Nova 31m 00s
27 Steve Barrett John Dyke Peugeot 205 313m 00s
28 Tony Watkin Medwyn Evans Vauxhall Nova 44m 00s
29 Mal Acott Dave Bates Ford Escort 1F 7m 00s
30 Richard Roe Chris Ware Toyota Celica GT4 1F 11m 00s
31 Justin Sharples Pete Morris Subaru Legacy 1F 15m 00s
32 Andy Roberts Stuart Frost Subaru Impreza 1F 17m 00s
33 Alan Williams Barry Jones Vauxhall Nova 1F 24m 00s
34 John Bray James Savage Subaru Legacy 1F 40m 00s
35 Steve Edwards Paul Jones Ford Sierra 2F 7m 00s
36 Dave Jones Baz Green Vauxhall Astra GTE 2F 10m 00s
37 Mei Jones Dylan Jones Vauxhall Astra 3F 19m 00s
38 John Jones Alan Thompson Renault 11 Turbo 6F 32m 00s
39 Gavin Richards Dafydd Roberts Vauxhall Nova 6F 36m 00s
40 Craig O'Reagan Jamie Bryan Peugeot 205 12F 27m 00s