rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Skoda Trophy Road Rally 2003

Sponsored by Clarks of Wrexham

Broughton & Bretton Car Club

17th/18th May 2003

Clerk of the Course: Adrian Smart & Brynmor Pierce

Route: 110 Miles

Maps: 116 & 117

Starters: 72

Winners: Brynli Thomas/Paul Holmberg (Peugeot 205 GTi)

Brynli Thomas made it two wins in two weekends when he followed up his Witch Way success with victory on the Skoda Trophy Rally. For his navigator, Paul Holmberg, it was a second successive win on the Broughton & Bretton MC event.

Skoda Trophy Road Rally 2003

The rally, which attracted a full entry, but with some non-shows there were 72 starters. It used a 110 mile route in the classic roads of North East Wales. From the start at the sponsor's premises in Wrexham, crews moved westward to Clocaenog and then, via a more northerly route, back to the Finish near Mold.

The event was timed to the minute, with any ties being decided by times at the first time control in the second section (ITC2). This section was in the lanes and tracks above Llysfasi College.

Three crews completed the rally with just a one minute penalty. Howard Price/Carl Williamson (Ford Escort) had collect their penalty at ITC2, while Thomas/Holmberg (Peugeot 205 GTi) and Dave Jones/Baz Green (Subaru Impreza) had got to ITC3 before dropping their minute. Price/Williamson, who had been held up by a non-competing vehicle on the crucial section, were therefore classified in third.

The front two crews had to separated by the seconds dropped at the tie-breaker ITC2. The tracks had been around Brynli Thomas' home and he arrived at ITC2 just one second behind his due time. Jones/Green, competing in a hired Impreza, were 40 seconds late. These times decided the top two places, even though Thomas/Holmberg had a fright when the HT lead came off later on in the first half; they solved the problem and still made their time at the next control.

Gary Jones/Dave Pitchford also finished with a total time penalty of one minute, but they had missed a code board near Cyffylliog. The fail dropped them to 32nd place.

Skoda Trophy Road Rally 2003
Sixth Placed: Brian Jones/Phill Harrison (Peugeot 205 GTi)

Three crews finished on two minutes. Mark Whitford/Steve Porter (Ford Escort) were classified in fourth after dropping just a minute on the vital second section. Medwyn Jones/Wayne Allen (Talbot Sunbeam) claimed fifth, and the Semi Expert Class win, after getting to ITC3 before being two minutes late, while Brian Jones/Phill Harrison dropped time at ITC2 and took sixth place as a result.

The Novice Class was won by Rhys Jones/Alwyn Roberts (Peugeot 205 GTi), who finished in 25th place, four minutes ahead of their nearest class rivals.

A number of crews picked up large penalties when they booked into the final MC early. Mark Price/Roger Evans (Ford Escort) would have had a top five finish, but for the error, which resulted in them being awarded 12 fails. Ian 'Dude' Roberts/Andy Moss made the same mistake, and, having also missed a code board, ended with 13 fails.

Amongst the crews who didn’t make the finish were Glyn Price/Brian Jones (clutch), Mal Acott/Nigel Roberts (navigator unwell) and Martin Lloyd/Steve Herbert (half-shaft).

Due to confusion over how the tie-break would be implemented, the results couldn't be resolved at the Finish and they had to be posted to competitors. This process meant that the results weren't declared final until 13th June.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Brynlin Thomas Paul Holmberg Peugeot 205 GTi 1m 00s
2 Dave Jones Baz Green Subaru Impreza 1m 00s
3 Howard Price Carl Williamson Ford Escort 1m 00s
4 Mark Whitford Steve Porter Ford Escort 2m 00s
5 Medwyn Jones Wayne Allen Talbot Sunbeam 2m 00s
6 Brian Jones Phill Harrison Peugeot 205 GTi 2m 00s
7 John Broadhurst Gareth Williams Ford Escort 3m 00s
8 Allan Roberts Paul Jones Ford Escort 4m 00s
9 Carl Hawkins Iain Tullie Vauxhall Nova 4m 00s
10 Steve Price Cyril Jones Toyota Corolla GT 4m 00s
11 Huw Myfyr Owen Dodd VW Golf GTi 4m 00s
12 Nick Toplis Mick Fern Vauxhall Nova GTE 5m 00s
13 Len Evans Pete Dale Rover 216 5m 00s
14 Phil Williams Bryan Glass Toyota Corolla 5m 00s
15 Iwan Williams Gwion Pryderi Ford Escort 5m 00s
16 Roger Powley Jon Smith Toyota Corolla 5m 00s
17 Stuart Kelso Eilir Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 5m 00s
18 Gareth Clarke Gareth Jones Peugeot 309 SR 5m 00s
19 Gareth Jones Iwan Jones Vauxhall Astra GTE 8m 00s
20 Gwyn Morris Shaun Baker Peugeot 205 GTi 8m 00s
21 Chris Leach Jolyon Robinson Peugeot 205 GTi 9m 00s
22 Dewi John Michael Evans Peugeot 205 GTi 9m 00s
23 Wyn Williams Gwyn Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 10m 00s
24 Steve Wynn Chris Wynn Ford Escort 13m 00s
25 Rhys Jones Alwyn Roberts Peugeot 205 GTi 15m 00s
26 Nick Banks Reg Gradden Citroen ZX 15m 00s
27 Alun Probert Eric Tong Ford Sierra XR4i 16m 00s
28 Dilwyn Jones Wyn Morris Peugeot 309 SRi 19m 00s
29 Colin Cresswell Steve Prince Midas 33m 00s
30 Brian Spurr Steve Bishop Ford Escort 34m 00s
31 Tony Watkin Medwyn Evans Vauxhall Nova 39m 00s
32 Gary Jones Dave Pitchford Toyota Corolla 1F 1m 00s
33 Andy Phillips Alan Pemberton Audi Quattro 1F 2m 00s
34 Iwan Griffiths Robin Williams Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 3m 00s
35 Steve John Williams Geoff Williams Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 11m 00s
36 Mark Jones Mike Jones Ford Escort 1F 19m 00s
37 Andy Roberts Paul Edwards Subaru Impreza 1F 21m 00s
38 Mark 'GT' Roberts Dawn Watkin VW Golf GTi 1F 26m 00s
39 Frank Burton Stephen Ball Ford Escort 1F 29m 00s
40 Shaun Buckley Clwyd Davies Ford Granada 1F 30m 00s
41 Nick Bamford Karl Short Ford Fiesta S 1F 37m 00s
42 Terry Bennett Richard Evans Vauxhall Astra 2F 17m 00s
43 Mike Geoghegan Chris Robinson Land Rover 110 2F 23m 00s
44 Mark Singleton Gareth Jones Suzuki Swift 3F 6m 00s
45 Brian Williams Andrew Singleton Vauxhall Astra 4F 12m 00s
46 Alastair Hunter Andy Morley Peugeot 205 5F 39m 00s
47 John Williams Wyn Lloyd Peugeot 205 7F 20m 00s
48 Andrew Matthews Colin Jones Ford Fiesta XR2 8F 7m 00s
49 Alun Hayward Mark Thomas Vauxhall Nova 9F 28m 00s
50 Mark Price Roger Evans Ford Escort 12F 2m 00s
51 Merfyn Williams Derwyn Roberts Vauxhall Astra 12F 3m 00s
52 Keith Gush Lyn Gush Vauxhall Nova GTE 12F 11m 00s
53 Aled Owen Menna Price BL Mini 12F 24m 00s
54 Ian 'Dude' Roberts Andy Moss VW Golf GTi 13F 5m 00s
55 Dewi James Sion James VW Golf GTi 13F 11m 00s
56 Dave Gore Danny Williams VW Golf GTi 25F 19m 00s