rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Suzanne Crowley Memorial Rally 1999

Barcud Motor Club

11th/12th December 1999

Clerk of the Course: Roddy Daniels

Route: 130 Miles

Maps: 135 & 146

Starters: 49

Winners: Neil Griffiths/Carl Williamson (Ford Escort)

Neil Griffiths/Carl Williamson completed a highly successful year by taking victory on Barcud MC's Suzanne Crowley Memorial Rally. The newly crowned Welsh champions won by just five seconds, the event being decided on the very last section. Gethin Lewis/Aled Jones came home second, just three seconds clear of Tony Davies/Dylan Evans.

The Tregaron based event opened with a run over Abergwesyn, which was easily cleanable. This was followed by a regularity section that eventually had to be cancelled after the intermediate clock failed. This left the top crews clean of penalties as they entered the final section which used the Penygwernydd mines. The slippery conditions secured a result for the organisers.

Kevin Ikin/Rob Jones finished sixth, which gave Ikin the North Western driver's title as his only challenger Mick Monaghan failed to take the start. Fifth was enough to secure the navigator's crown for Dave Pitchford, as his only rival Iain Tullie was forced to retired at Petrol after sustaining damage to his and Terry Pressdee's Chevette.

The Semi-Expert class was won by Alun Davies/Richard Davies, who finished tenth overall in their Opel Manta. Chris Rowlands/Paul Edwards made it two Novice class wins in a month, as they added the Suzanne Crowley to their Peak Revs award.

Among the less fortunate crews were Huw James/Deian Rees, their Escort's engine failed after just ten miles. Meanwhile Clive Greaves/Rob Duke withdrew after losing a large amount of time after getting stuck at PC4. Of the 49 starters, 33 made it back to the finish.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Neil Griffiths Carl Williamson Ford Escort 3m 02s
2 Gethin Lewis Aled Jones Ford Escort RS 3m 07s
3 Tony Davies Dylan Evans Toyota Corolla 3m 10s
4 Martyn O'Connor Peter Collins Vauxhall Astra GTE 3m 38s
5 Gary Jones Dave Pitchford Toyota Corolla 3m 42s
6 Kevin Ikin Rob Jones Ford Escort 4m 19s
7 Gary Robbins Jon Stobbs Renault 5 5m 12s
8 Andrew Phillips John Hands Ford Escort 5m 12s
9 Nick Yates Simon Yates Ford Escort 7m 22s
10 Alun Davies Richard Davies Opel Manta 7m 44s