rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Swan 2002 Rally

Sponsored by Stanwell Trailers

Windsor Car Club + High Wycombe & District Motor Club

11th/12th May 2002

Clerk of the Course: PRAR

Route: 150 Miles

Maps: 165 & 175

Starters: 35

Winners: Steve Cole/Bob Blows (Peugeot 205 GTi)

Windsor Car Club and High Wycombe & District MC once again combined to organise the Swan Rally. It used a 150 mile route on maps 165 and 175 and was a round of the Rally 2002 Road Rally Championship. The rally was supported by Stanwell Trailers.

Swan 2002 Rally

The route definition for the Masters, Experts and Semi-Experts was by tulip diagrams. Crews were supplied with a route book containing over two thousand five hundred tulip diagrams, however only nine hundred were used. Marshals identified to navigators which number diagram was the start of that section. The method was highly successful with crews being unable to guess the route prior to any section starting.

In an attempt to encourage newcomers the Novices were given a marked map, complete with route, for the first half and the tulip diagrams for the second. The Clubmans were given marked maps for the entire event. The Swan proved to be a great success with the only major problem being a lack of marshals.

The rally turned out to be a battle between Steve Cole/Bob Blows, Matt Fowle/John Upham and Mike Biss/Cath Woodman, the latter crew being undefeated since November 2001. The matter was decided when Biss/Woodman missed a code board soon after the petrol halt, one of only two crews to do so, the resulting ten minute penalty dropped them to fifth. Cole/Blows then went on to take their third successive win on the Swan.

Matthew Fowle/John Upham took the runner up spot; they had led until the last section when they lost time looking for a triangle control. Phil Collings/Mark Collings came in third to make it a Peugeot 205 1-2-3, in fact Peugeots filled eight of the top ten places.

Ian Mepham/Sue Speller debuted a new Toyota Corolla but were severely delayed when a rear brake caliper broke on the car, they eventually finished fifteenth.

As Novice crews were provided with easier route hand outs they weren’t eligible for overall awards. The clear class win went to the Citroen Visa of John Stephens/Paul Stephens who were twenty minutes ahead of Mark Lodder/Mark Hickman at the Finish.

In the Clubmans Rally the winners were Paul Thomas/Chris Green, on the navigator’s first rally, with Martin Andrew/Julian Ellis second.

Of the thirty-five starters all but five made it to the Finish.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Steve Cole Bob Blows Peugeot 205 GTi 2m 54s
2 Matt Fowle John Upham Peugeot 205 GTi 4m 37s
3 Phil Collings Mark Collings Peugeot 205 GTi 8m 10s
4 Dominic Worsfold Neil Worsfold Peugeot 106 10m 28s
5 Mike Biss Cath Woodman Peugeot 205 GTi 11m 48s
6 Phil Kendall Ian Collings Peugeot 309 GTi 17m 20s
7 Paul Wright Graham Coker Ford Escort 17m 48s
8 Doug Kingsley Ben Greenfield Vauxhall Nova GTE 18m 15s
9 Chris Moore Tom Jenkins Peugeot 106 18m 15s
10 Rob Dance Graham Dance Peugeot 205 GTi 19m 40s
11 Gavin Braddock Chris Hill Vauxhall Belmont 19m 57s
12 Mark Butler Peter Barnard Peugeot 205 GTi 26m 42s
13 Clive Anstey Verity Anstey Vauxhall Nova GTE 27m 10s
14 Paul Swindells David Coles Peugeot 309 GTi 31m 16s
15 Ian Mepham Sue Speller Toyota Corolla 36m 58s
16 Graham Child Kevin Ablitt Ford Escort Mexico 40m 10s
17 Simon Jenvey Les Parsons Ford Ka 73m 12s
Novice Class
1 John Stephens Paul Stephens Citroen Visa 25m 13s
2 Mark Lodder Mark Hickman Vauxhall Astra GTE 56m 30s
3 Chris Powney Chris Head Peugeot 309 GTi 1F 49m 34s
4 Sam Collins Oliver North VW Golf 1F 56m 13s
5 Dominic Taylor Phil Haines Mazda 323 Turbo 2F 83m 55s
6 Lee Robinson Daniel Robinson Ford Escort 10F 398m 56s
7 Emily Newman Andrew Tarling Citroen AX GT 11F 263m 10s
Clubman Rally
1 Paul Thomas Chris Green Vauxhall Astra GTE 20m 01s
2 Martin Andrew Julian Ellis Saab 9000 42m 05s
3 Rob Reynolds Colin Hiscock Mazda 323 56m 56s
4 Dominic Worsfold Neil Worsfold Vauxhall Corsa GSi 125m 12s
5 Chris Wise Ben Smith Peugeot 205 Rallye 1F 61m 16s
6 David Edmunds Dominic Jeans Peugeot 205 1F 130m 25s