rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Telford Novices Rally 2003

Telford Auto Club

27th/28th September 2003

Clerk of the Course: Kevin Hutchings

Route: 120 Miles

Maps: 126 & 127

Starters: 36

Winners: Chris Green/Andy Lawrence (Ford Escort)

Chris Green/Andy Lawrence emerged as winners of Telford AC’s annual novice rally.

The closed to club event was open to novice and beginner crews only and attracted 36 starters to the Alscott Inn on the outskirts of Telford, where the rally started and finished. Crews tackled a 120 mile route, which started with sections south of Telford, before moving northwards to the petrol halt at Whitchurch. Then tests in the Market Drayton and Newport areas led competitors back to the Alscott.

Navigation was by photocopied maps, however, despite this easy introduction, the rally still proved a tough test for the inexperienced crews.

After a consistent run Green/Lawrence, who were competing in an Escort, finished just eleven seconds ahead of the Mini of Andrew Dorsett/Carl Darby. Andy Oakes/Chris Oakes finished third, they’d taken the second fastest time over the single timed to the second section but lost out on a win after spending five minutes searching for a non-existent code board. Nic Morris/Nick Cadwallader rounded off the top four.

Nicolas Nicolaou/David Millard took their Vauxhall Nova to the win in the Beginners class, finishing fifth overall, while Thomas Roberts/Dale Furniss were just one place and forty seconds behind to take second in class in their Peugeot 205.

There were Junior Awards for the youngest finishers. The driver’s award went to Ashley Kennell, while the navigator’s prize went to Russ Evans, who navigated Frank Evans to tenth overall.

Of the thirty-six starters, twenty-five made it back to the Finish.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Chris Green Andy Lawrence Ford Escort 7m 59s
2 Andrew Dorsett Carl Darby Peugeot 205 XS 8m 10s
3 Andy Oakes Chris Oakes Toyota Corolla 11m 02s
4 Nic Morris Nick Cadwallader Vauxhall Nova 15m 57s
5 Nicolas Nicolaou David Millard Vauxhall Nova GTE 20m 02s
6 Thomas Roberts Dale Furniss Peugeot 205 GTi 20m 43s
7 Kevin Hardwick Richard Calcroft Peugeot 205 GTi 24m 29s
8 Daniel Williams Richard Jerman Vauxhall Nova SR 36m 38s
9 Alun Jones Dylan Harris Peugeot 205 GTi 51m 59s
10 Frank Evans Russ Evans Toyota Corolla 60m 41s