rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Telford Winter Stages 2004

Sponsored by Tolputt Keeton

Telford Auto Club

7th February 2004

Clerk of the Course: Kevin Hutchings

Stages: 9 (45 Stage Miles)

Venue: Sweet Lamb

Starters: 41

Winners: Graham Middleton/John Morgan (Hyundai Accent WRC)

Telford Winter Stages 2004

Graham Middleton/John Morgan overcame a down on power engine and a time consuming spin on the final stage to take victory on Telford AC’s Tolputt Keeton Winter Stages.

The Sweet Lamb based rally saw crews tackled nine stages totalling 45 competitive miles. Service was taken after Stages 3, 6 and 8.

The rally developed into a battle between the Hyundai Accent WRC of Middleton/Morgan and the Group N Impreza of Dorian Rees/Patrick Walsh. Middleton had found that the Accent’s newly installed engine seemed to lack power on the car’s previous unit but despite this he had managed to eek out a 23 second lead by the start of the final stage.

On that test he spun and lost seventeen seconds as he struggled to engage reverse gear. Rees however was unable to take advantage as he caught the car in front on the stage and was a second slower than his previous time over the same test. The two crews were separated by just six seconds at the end.

Evo Challenge contenders Jon Ingram/Mark Lewis and James Edwards/Simon Brown used the event as a test session and a cautious approach by both crews netted third and fourth places, five minutes behind the leading pair.

Geraint Mills/Jonny Evans led the 2WD battle in their Manta and were as high as third at one point. Entering the last stage they had a 21 second lead in their class, however the gear stick came loose on the stage and they lost over 40 seconds. This allowed Martin Kenny/Dave Stocking through to take the class win, fifth place overall and the lead in the Miller Oils Welsh Clubmans series.

Telford Winter Stages 2004
Off Road: Stuart Jones/Andy Marchbank (Proton Satria)

Stuart Jones/Andy Marchbank were leading Class 2 by 40 seconds when they went off the road at the end of the tarmac section on SS4. Paul Jones/Chris Evans picked up the spoils and claimed the class win.

Andrew Kenny/Gary Kenny (Mitsubishi Lancer E3) withdrew after SS3 with engine maladies, while Maurice Leach/Nigel Gilbride had the bottom pins snap on their Escort, the bonnet flew up and broke the windscreen; they retired. Neil Andrew/Mark Spavin went out on SS2 after putting their Ford Sierra 4x4 off the road.

Aled 'Cacen' Evans/Eryl Evans were chasing Welsh Clubman Championship points, but entired a trying day in their Ford Sierra XR4x4. The car cut out at the start SS6 and then stopped twice on SS7; the fault was tarced to a problem in the fuel feed. They finished in 19th position.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Graham Middleton John Morgan Hyundai Accent WRC 50m 37s
2 Dorian Rees Patrick Walsh Subaru Impreza WRX 50m 43s
3 Jon Ingram Mark Lewis Mitsubishi Lancer E8 55m 52s
4 James Edwards Simon Brown Mitsubishi Lancer E8 56m 19s
5 Martin Kenny Dave Stocking Ford Escort 56m 34s
6 Geraint Mills Jonny 'Tad' Evans Opel Manta 56m 49s
7 Tim Jones Don James Ford Escort 57m 01s
8 Duncan Goldsmith Bryan Hull Ford Escort 57m 17s
9 Lynsey Hansford Graham Roberts Ford Escort 58m 15s
10 Andrew Graham Peter Brennan Ford Sapphire Cosworth 58m 20s
11 Mark Lakeland Andy Sharples Ford Escort 58m 40s
12 Paul Williams Chris Kelly Ford Escort Cosworth 58m 51s
13 Ian Godney Chris Short Subaru Impreza 58m 55s
14 Mark Rowlands Peter Lewis Ford Escort Cosworth 59m 20s
15 Paul Jones Chris Evans Peugeot 206 XSi 59m 26s
16 Chris Gittins Stuart Humphries Ford Escort 59m 59s
17 Stuart Thomas Kevin Jones Ford Escort 1h 00m 15s
18 Mark Goodwin Wayne Davies Ford Escort 1h 00m 30s
19 Aled 'Cacen' Evans Eryl Evans Ford Sierra XR4x4 1h 01m 47s
20 Scott Bennett James Bennett Mitsubishi Lancer E6 1h 02m 24s
21 Huw Jeffreys Avarina Connor Ford Escort 1h 02m 56s
22 Pete Hamer Niki Griffiths Talbot Sunbeam 1h 03m 28s
23 Chris Metcalfe Pete Swan Ford Escort 1h 04m 02s
24 Richard Roberts Ian Jarman Peugeot 205 GTi 1h 04m 29s