rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Valentine Trophy Rally 2002

Caernarvonshire & Anglesey Motor Club

9th/10th February 2002

Clerk of the Course:

Route: 90 Miles

Maps: 114 & 115

Starters: 47

Winners: Eurig Wyn Thomas/Rhun Ellis (Toyota Corolla)

As usual Caernarvonshire & Anglesey MC ran their Valentine Road Rally as a closed to club novice event, with Experts not eligible to enter. Despite this restriction 47 cars took the start, of these 35 made it to the Finish.

The rally, which used a route on Anglesey and on the nearby mainland, saw victory go to top seeds Eurig Thomas/Rhun Ellis. Merfyn Williams/Derwyn Roberts were second in their Astra, while the leading Novices, Lee Evans/Anthony Williams, finished a noteworthy third.

The rally was run in heavy gales which caused difficulties for many crews, especially as the infamous Llandegai ford was used. Foremost among the victims of the weather was Car Two, Keith Povey/Christopher Hunt, who retired when their Astra drowned out.

Broken exhausts caused the demise of both the Escort XR3i of Gwyn Davies/Nigel Williams and the Vauxhall Nova of Keith Gush/Jenny Gush. Peter Feucht/Elwyn Pritchard went out when they broke the suspension on their Lada after a hard landing following a yump. It was an unhappy event in general for the crew as the driver had earlier taken a severe knock on the head when the wind blew the car door.

Robert Jones/Robin Evans retired when a hose burst on their Peugeot 205. Stephen Hughes/Peter Lucas lost twenty minutes when the fuel pump broke on their Sierra and John Ceirion Jones/Will Lynes were delayed by a spotlight failure on their Escort.

Second in the Novice class were Bleddyn Jones/Iwan ap Llyfnwy, who were sixth overall, while Danny Postlewaithe/Neil Postlewaithe were third in class at eighth overall. The Beginners class was won by Aubrey Gower/Tony Roberts in their Sierra 4x4, with Mark Jones/Dilwyn Jones (Vauxhall Astra) second and the final finishers, Clive Lane/Nia Salisbury, were third.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Eurig Wyn Thomas Rhun Ellis Toyota Corolla 1m 57s
2 Dewi Williams Derwyn Roberts Vauxhall Astra SRi 3m 02s
3 Lee Evans Anthony Williams Vauxhall Nova SRi 3m 46s
4 Carwyn Edwards Richard Edwards Mini 1275 4m 45s
5 Keith Povey Christopher Hunt Vauxhall Astra 7m 08s
6 Bleddyn Jones Iwan ap Llyfnwy VW Golf 7m 20s
7 Dyfan Jones John Arfon Jones Vauxhall Astra 7m 22s
8 Danny Postlewaithe Neil Postlewaithe Peugeot 205 GTi 8m 27s
9 Nick Banks Reg Gradden Citroen ZX 10m 18s
10 Michael Roberts Gavin Thompson Peugeot 205 11m 38s