rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Valley Services Road Rally 1999

Sponsored by Valley Services (Llandysul) Ltd

Llandysul Motor Club

21st/22nd August 1999

Clerk of the Course: Alan Davies & John Hands

Route: 140 Miles

Maps: 145 & 146

Starters: 72

Winners: Arwyn Thomas/Andy Bowen (Ford Escort)

Arwyn Thomas/Andy Bowen took victory on Llandysul MC's Valley Services Road Rally. The organisers had declined to be included in the Welsh Championship but, despite its closed to club status, there were still 72 starters. However a tough format, which included a run through the Brechfa Forest and numerous farm tracks, meant that only 32 crews made it to the finish of the 140 mile challenge.

Valley Services Rally 1999
Winners: Arwyn Thomas/Andy Bowen (Ford Escort)
Photograph: Aled Richards

Top seeds, Mark Williams/Dyfan Davies, had established themselves in the lead when, just prior to the halfway halt, they were forced out of the event when the track control arm was ripped off their Astra on one of the rally's many whites

A number of crews hit problems when misleading arrows appeared on the route on the second section, these led crews down an impassable track. Worst affected were Paul Evans/Patrick Walsh, they would have won the rally by a comfortable margin but for the nineteen minutes lost at this point. Huw Rowcliffe/Rob Duke, Michael Pedley/David Pedley, Geraint Davies/Emyr Jones and Eirwyn Davies/Dave Pitchford were other crews delayed in the same incident.

Thomas/Bowen survived to take the win, but were just 20 seconds in front of second placed Ceri Richards/Aled Jones, making it a Ford Escort 1-2. Kevin Lewis/Dylan Evans rounded off the top three in their Toyota Corolla. Huw Davies/Gwynfor Jones were fourth, they'd initally picked up a fail for a missed code board, but along with a number of other crews had this surpressed as the control procedures had not been correctly followed.

Neil Griffiths/Carl Williamson (Ford Escort) started as Car 2, but ended up in 20th position having been penalised two fails for visiting a control twice. Gary Jones/Andy Oakes (Toyota Corolla) finished in 16th after booking in eight minutes early at one time control.

The 1996 winners, Geraint Davies/Emyr Jones, retired their Toyota Corolla after getting stuck on a white. Meanwhile Sarah Harmer/Pat Gadsby withdrew at MC3 with significant damage on their Maestro.

The Semi-Expert award went to John Davies/Geraint Mayes (Toyota Corolla), who were seventh overall. Richard Briddon/Dafydd Williams were second in class but were ruing the twelve minutes lost with a puncture early on in the night. Trevor Robinson/David Thomas (Ford Escort) were the leading novice crew, coming home in 23rd place.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Arwyn Thomas Andy Bowen Ford Escort 10m 44s
2 Ceri Richards Aled Jones Ford Escort 11m 09s
3 Kevin Lewis Dylan Evans Toyota Corolla 13m 27s
4 Huw Davies Gwynfor Jones Ford Escort 14m 47s
5 John 'Mk1' Thomas Alan Davies Ford Escort XR3i 15m 19s
6 Chris Evans Ian Cookes Ford Escort RS 16m 46s
7 John 'Tyres' Davies Geraint Mayes Toyota Corolla 16m 47s
8 Martyn O'Connor Peter Collins Vauxhall Astra GTE 23m 08s
9 Paul Evans Patrick Walsh Ford Escort RS 24m 05s
10 Richard Briddon Dafydd 'Budgie' Williams Toyota Starlet 26m 12s
11 Alun 'Foo' Davies Richard Davies Opel Manta 26m 45s
12 Hefin Lewis Eyrl Rees Ford Sierra 28m 21s
13 Nick Abbott Mark Andrew Ford Escort RS2000 29m 17s
14 Michael Pedley David Pedley Ford Escort G4 31m 32s
15 Mark Harris Neil Bevan Ford Escort XR3i 33m 10s
16 Gary Jones Andy Oakes Toyota Corolla 36m 11s
17 Robert Rees Ann Rees Ford Escort 37m 20s
18 Henry Webster Lock Horsburgh Ford Sierra Ghia 41m 54s
19 Michael Rowlands TBA Ford Escort XR3i 1F 21m 08s
20 Neil Griffiths Carl Williamson Ford Escort 2F 13m 20s
21 Ryan Leary Kevin Jones Ford Fiesta 2F 24m 41s
22 Wyn Owens Hefin Owens Lada Riva 2F 36m 06s
23 Trevor Robinson David Thomas Ford Escort RS2000 2F 84m 37s
24 Gareth Evans Brian Jenkins Ford Escort 3F 16m 20s
25 Nigel Fletcher Nick Steadman Peugeot 205 GTi 3F 70m 11s
26 Doreen Davies Hywel Greves Ford Escort XR3i 5F 51m 58s
27 Neil Reed Barry Davies Ford Escort 10F 76m 09s
28 Fred Davies Tom Davies Ford Escort 13F 46m 07s
29 David Williams Ceri Adams Lewis Vauxhall Nova 15F 80m 25s
30 Andrew Williams Wyn Davies Audi Coupe 15F 83m 28s
31 Eirwyn Davies Dave Pitchford Ford Escort RS2000 16F 13m 35s
32 Christian Howells Andrew Hughes Peugeot 205 GTi 20F 65m 11s