rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Valley Services Road Rally 2002

Sponsored by Valley Services (Llandysul) Ltd + Ffenestri EXL Windows

Llandysul Motor Club

17th/18th August 2002

Clerk of the Course: Clive Greves, Rob Duke & Huw Davies

Route: 130 Miles

Maps: 145 146 & 159

Starters: 71

Winners: Paul Evans/Patrick Walsh (Ford Escort)

Paul Evans/Patrick Walsh won the Valley service Road Rally, heading home a Ford Escort 1-2-3. The 130 mile event, based at the organising club's home town, wasn't in any championships, but still attarcted a capacity 75 entry. Four non-starters meant that 71 cars took the flag. Amongst the missing crews were 2000 Valley Services winners and top seeds, Gary Jones/Dave Pitchford.

Valley Services Road Rally 2002

Evans/Walsh were on the pace from the off; they dropped just one second on the openings ection through Cwmtywyll Valley. No other crew were within half a minute of their time. By Petrol the Escort crew were 1m 08s ahead. They then cleaned the whole of the second half to finish with a victory margin of 1m 17s.

Toby Adam/Byron Jones took the runner up spot. The Valley Servies continued their successful partnership; their six starts together had netted four wins and two second places. Ceri Richards/Aled Jones completed the Escort triumph, taking third, the position they had held at the halfway point.

Martyn O'Conner/Peter Collins broke the Ford domination by bringing their Vauxhall Astra into fourth. They may have challenged for the win, but lost two minutes after picking up a puncture 200 yards from the start of the first section; they dropped two minutes changing the wheel. They recovered by dropping just one second in the second half.

Another Astra GTE, that of Elgan Jones/Paul Bevan, completed the top six finishers. They had been tied with Steven Davies/Eurig Evans at Petrol, but the latter crew fell back to 11th at the Finish.

The Semi-Expert Class was won by Carwyn Evans/Mark Andrew (Vauxhall Astra), who finished in ninth place overall, almost four minutes ahead of their nearest class rivals.

Adam John/Rhidian John (Ford Escort XR3i) were even more emphatic winners of the Novice Class; they ended almost 25 minutes in front of the second in class.

John 'Mark One' Thomas/Owen Dodd had a big off, narrowly missing a telephone post as they crashed. They tried to continue, but were forced out by a broken alternator bracket.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Paul Evans Patrick Walsh Ford Escort 1m 28s
2 Toby Adam Byron Jones Ford Escort 2m 45s
3 Ceri Richards Aled Jones Ford Escort 3m 19s
4 Martyn O'Connor Peter Collins Vauxhall Astra GTE 3m 24s
5 Elgan Jones Paul Bevan Vauxhall Astra GTE 3m 55s
6 Mark James Dilwyn John Suzuki Swift 4m 21s
7 Michael Pedley David Pedley Ford Escort DB4 5m 30s
8 Jon Stobbs Gary Robbins Toyota Corolla 8m 45s
9 Carwyn Evans Dorian Evans Vauxhall Astra GTE 12m 12s
10 Alyson Acreman Matthew Maidment Honda Civic 14m 15s
11 Stephen Davies Eurig Evans Ford Escort 15m 39s
12 Alun Probert Martin Jones Ford Sierra 15m 54s
13 Paul Jenkins Aled Richards Ford Escort 16m 45s
14 Delfryn Owens Jeff James Renault Clio 16m 56s
15 Paul Tod Iestyn ap Dafydd Peugeot 205 GTi 17m 43s
16 Jason Harries Geraint Jones Peugeot 205 18m 36s
17 Barry Davies Hefin Owens Ford Escort 19m 38s
18 Carwyn Davies Mark Davies Vauxhall Astra 24m 15s
19 Adam John Rhidian Jones Ford Escort 29m 38s
20 Robert James Hefin Owens Rover 216 30m 15s
21 Lee Heywood Mark Hamilton Ford Escort 34m 57s
22 Mike Cartwright Steve Warrington Vauxhall Nova 40m 12s
23 Mark Daniels Hywel Ifans Vauxhall Nova 40m 41s
24 Darren Thomas Matthew Warner Ford Escort 41m 47s
25 Gary Jenkins Eric Tong Peugeot 205 GTi 45m 53s
26 Andrew Thomas Hefin Thomas Peugeot 205 GTi 46m 44s
27 Andrew Groom Carl Darby Ford Fiesta XR2 48m 43s
28 Gareth 'Gog' Jones Dylan Evans Ford Escort XR3i 1F 10m 03s
29 David Wilmer Mark Powell Ford Escort 1F 26m 50s
30 Mario Mangano Leighton Williams Fiat Tipo 1F 31m 37s
31 Mike James Richard Evans Vauxhall Astra GTE 1F 35m 03s
32 Gareth Williams Owen Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 11F 54m 02s
33 Ceri Jones Adrian Monk Peugeot 205 GTi 12F 46m 56s
34 Hefin Jones Llinos Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 12F 50m 29s
35 Gethin Humphries Delyth Morgan Ford Escort 12F 1h 16m 52s
36 Rhidian Rees Nigel Smith Ford Escort 15F 1h 18m 54s
37 Gareth Thomas Barry James Vauxhall Astra 18F 49m 56s
38 Arwel Davies Jonathan Davies Ford Escort Van 27F 45m 55s
39 Jason Sugden Darren Beynon Vauxhall Nova 28F 1h 03m 36s
40 Euros Evans Emyr Evans Ford Sierra 35F 1h 04m 59s