rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Valley Services Road Rally 2003

Sponsored by Valley Services (Llandysul) Ltd + Ffenestri EXL Windows

Llandysul Motor Club

16th/17th August 2003

Clerk of the Course: Neal Summerfield, Anthony Davies & Alun Davies

Route: 135 Miles

Maps: 145 & 146

Starters: 75

Winners: Paul Evans/Patrick Walsh (Ford Escort)

For the second year running, Paul Evans/Patrick Walsh won the Valley Services Road Rally in their hired Ford Escort.

Valley Services Road Rally 2003

The Llandysul Motor Club event, started and finished in the club's home town. It had a 135 mile route, which had a pre-plot format and consisted of eight regularity sections. Despite not being in any of the major regional championships, the rally attracted a capacity 75 car entry.

It proved to be a tough test; an intricate route meant that only five crews completed the route without incurring a fail.

John 'Mark 1' Thomas/Eurig Evans (Ford Escort) were the initial leaders, they, along with John Davies/Neil Bevan (Vauxhall Nova) cleaned the section to ITC3, where Evans/Walsh had dropped 20 seconds. However Thomas/Evans then missed the code board at RC9 and incurred a fail.

Mei Jones/Steve Herbert (Peugeot 205) had also picked up a fail when they missed RC7. They picked up another in the second half when they failed to find an entrance to a farmyard and collected a wrong approach at PC32. Ceri Richard/Aled Jones (Ford Escort) had a below par night, picking up a penalty of 2m 04s for an early arrival at ITC1 and then a fail at RC17.

Evans/Walsh cleaned the section leading to the time control at the end of the second section and took the lead as Davies/Bevan picked up a 30 second penalty here. These were the positions when the crews reached Petrol. Arwyn Thomas/Dyfan Davies (Ford Escort) withdrew at this point with the navigator unwell.

Martyn O'Connor/Peter Collins (Vauxhall Astra) had only got as far as PC1 before suffering a broken drive shaft and retired. Meanwhile Huw Myfyr/Carwyn Evans were excluded for a give way infringement.

All the leading runners dropped time at ITC9. Both Evans/Walsh and Davies/Bevan were 22 seconds late here, so the lead remained at ten seconds. The matter was decided at RF6 where Evans/Walsh dropped 1m 16s, but Davies/Bevan were 2m 29s late. This meant that at the Finish the winners had a victory margin of 1m 23s.

Richard Briddon/Edryd Evans (Toyota Starlet) were third overall, but almost ten minutes behind first place. Alun Probert/Martin Jones (Ford Sierra XR4i) were fourth and won the Semi-Expert Class. David Wilmer/Mark Powell (Ford Escort), another Class 2 crew, were fifth and the last competitors free of fails.

Phillip Evans/Darren Williams (Ford Escort) were the clear winners in the Novice Class, finishing in 20th place overall.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Paul Evans Patrick Walsh Ford Escort 1m 58s
2 John Davies Neil Bevan Vauxhall Nova 3m 21s
3 Richard Briddon Edryd Evans Toyota Starlet 11m 40s
4 Alun Probert Martin Jones Ford Sierra XR4i 13m 48s
5 David Wilmer Mark Powell Ford Escort 21m 40s
6 John Mk1 Thomas Eurig Evans Ford Escort 1F 3m 14s
7 Kevin Jones Paul Bevan Vauxhall Astra GTE 1F 5m 40s
8 Chris Bowen Mark Robinson Ford Escort RS 1F 7m 17s
9 Kevin Davies Martin Richards Ford Escort 1F 9m 53s
10 Ceri Richards Aled Jones Ford Escort 1F 10m 57s
11 Mark Daniel Hywel Ifans Peugeot 205 1F 11m 28s
12 Ian Williams Elgan Davies Ford Escort 1F 11m 41s
13 Hefin Jones Llinos Jones Ford Escort RS 1F 16m 03s
14 Andy Oakes Dave Pitchford Toyota Corolla 2F 10m 55s
15 Gary Jenkins Eric Tong Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 11m 58s
16 Lee Heywood Mark Hamilton Peugeot 205 2F 12m 10s
17 Eifion Thomas Afan Thomas Ford Sierra 2F 17m 47s
18 Roy Thomas Michelle Thomas Peugeot 205 2F 21m 11s
19 Gareth Owens Aled Richards Ford Escort 2F 22m 21s
20 Phillips Evans Darren Williams Ford Escort 2F 31m 02s
21 Barry John Seyyan John Ford Escort 2F 44m 11s
22 Hefyn Thomas Paul Morris Vauxhall Astra GTE 2F 52m 25s
23 Mei Jones Steve Herbert Peugeot 205 3F 6m 24s
24 Dai Hands Ryan Hands Honda CRX 3F 17m 38s
25 Fred Harris Dai Roberts Peugeot 205 3F 25m 19s
26 Daniel Maclachlan Ian Morgan Ford Escort 4F 11m 00s
27 Mark Jonah Delyth Brown Peugeot 205 4F 15m 23s
28 Owen Llwyd Edwards Darren Williams Vauxhall Astra 4F 17m 49s
29 Robert Brown Alex Gill Peugeot 309 GTi 4F 17m 54s
30 Kevin Evans Owain Thomas Vauxhall Nova 4F 30m 26s
31 Dylan Evans Carwyn Davies Vauxhall Astra 4F 36m 30s
32 Geoff Williams Stuart Oulton Vauxhall Nova 4F 37m 35s
33 Andrew Jones Glen Summers Peugeot 205 4F 50m 33s
34 Sion Jones John Hands Ford Escort 5F 05m 44s
35 Dafydd Lewis Andrew Edwards Ford Escort 5F 14m 25s
36 Gareth Williams Owen Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 5F 18m 47s
37 Mike Cartwright Steve Warrington Vauxhall Astra 5F 20m 04s
38 Gary Davies Gavin Perry Ford Escort XR3i 5F 31m 09s
39 Ieuan Reeves Philip Evans Ford Escort 6F 14m 45s
40 Darren Draper Robert Jones Peugeot 205 12F 43m 02s
41 Kevin Jones Dilwyn John Ford Sierra 4x4 35F 09m 11s