rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Wessex Rally 2002

Dolphin Motor Club

15th/16th June 2002

Clerk of the Course: Bob Muttram

Route: 103 Miles

Maps: 174 & 185

Starters: 23

Winners: Mark Butler/Peter Barnard (Peugeot 205 GTi)

Peter Barnard made it two wins in successive weekends; he followed up his Barbara Carter Memorial victory by taking first place on the Wessex Rally.

Wessex Rally 2002

The lanes in the Berkshire/Wiltshire/Hampshire border area were used for Dolphin MC's Wessex Rally, a round of the ACSMC Championship. The rally attracted an entry of 23 starters, of whom all but two made it to the finish. The intended route had been 103 miles in length but the final seven miles had to be cancelled at the last moment when it was found that Railtrack had closed a level crossing for repair work during the night. The matter was only discovered when the course car arrived on the scene.

The navigational event was won by the Exmouth MC crew of Mark Butler/Peter Barnard who at the Finish were fourteen minutes clear of their nearest rival. Second and third places were taken by Novice crews, that class having been given hints to solving the navigational instructions. The Metro of Christopher Stratton/James Griffiths led home the Nova of Clive Anstey/Verity Anstey. Tim Daltry/Paul Fillis were the leading Expert crew in fourth place.

At the two-thirds point of the rally it looked as if victory was safely in the hands of top seeds Matthew Fowle/John Upham, the crew having dropped only three minutes at that stage. However a fuel return pipe came loose on their Peugeot 205 GTi and the car ground to halt out of fuel.

Rob Dance/Graham Dance (Peugeot 205 GTI) were another crew expected to do well and would have finished fourth but they a missed a time control on a section defined by herring bones, this cost them a fail and they were eventually classified twelfth. Geoff Skillen/Ian Collings (Ford Mondeo) missed out on a top six finish when they booked in early at a time control.

A Clubmans rally ran alongside the main event, this was designed for beginners and for them route definition was by marked maps. The winners were Simon Lassam/Graham Lewis (Seat Ibiza Cupra), with Wug Utting/Max Utting (Subaru Impreza) in second. In both cases the navigators were young teenagers.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Mark Butler Peter Barnard Peugeot 205 GTi 16m 00s
2 Christopher Stratton James Griffiths Rover Metro GTi 30m 00s
3 Clive Anstey Verity Anstey Vauxhall Nova 42m 00s
4 Tim Daltry Paul Fillis Ford Escort RS2000 51m 00s
5 Bob Wisniewski Paul Lettington Vauxhall Nova 53m 00s
6 Phil Kendall Susan Broughall Peugeot 309 GTi 62m 00s
7 Allan Sayers Bob Stokoe Ford Fiesta XR2 69m 00s
8 Graham Child Kevin Ablitt Ford Escort Mexico 72m 00s
9 Peter Noard Peter Cox Audi 80 GT 79m 00s
10 Stefan Arndt Les Parsons VW Golf 101m 00s
11 Phil Collings Mark Collings Peugeot 205 GTi 142m 00s
12 Dominic Taylor Phil Haines Mazda 323 Turbo 240m 00s
13 Rob Dance Graham Dance Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 44m 00s
14 Geoff Skillen Rob Collings Ford Mondeo 1F 68m 00s
15 Sam Collins Oliver North VW Golf 5F 337m 00s
16 Iain McKee Jon Francis Opel Manta Coupe 6F 334m 00s
17 Mark Lodder Mark Hickman Vauxhall Astra 7F 342m 00s
18 Emily Newman Andrew Tarling Citroen AX GT 13F 599m 00s
Clubman Rally
1 Simon Lassam Graham Lewis Seat Ibiza Cupra 1F 70m 00s
2 Wug Utting Max Utting Subaru Impreza 1F 147m 00s