rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Wessex Rally 2003

Dolphin Motor Club

31st May/1st June 2003

Clerk of the Course: Bob Muttram

Route: 107 Miles

Maps: 174 & 185

Starters: 23

Winners:Steve Cole/Bob Blows (Peugeot 205 GTi)

Steve Cole/Bob Blows took their third win of 2003, completing Dolphin MC’s Wessex Road Rally with a clean sheet.

Wessex Rally 2003

The 107 mile long navigational road rally was a round of the Rally 2003 Championship. It attracted 24 starters, who tackled a route in the vicinity of Newbury and Andover.

Entering the final sections there were a number of crews still clear of any penalties, however Cole/Blows were the only ones to arrive at the finish with their perfect run intact. The win consolidated their lead in the Rally 2003 series.

Simon Bush/John Upham lost time as they struggled with the navigation at one point, but otherwise had a clear run to take the runner up spot. Andy Garret/Jon Taylor finished third and were the first Expert crew home.

Barry Wier/Cath Woodman had been tying for the lead until the last timecard, when a misinterpretation of a navigational clue meant that they dropped seventeen minutes and only salvaged fourth place on a tie break from Bob Wisniewski/Paul Lettington.

Swan Rally winners Andy Coshan/Phil Kendall finished the rally without any time penalties, but a missed code board put them in sixth place at the Finish. They tied for the position with the leading novice crew of Neil Lewis/Simon Lassam.

Top seeds Mark Butler/Peter Barnard were excluded for an infringement of a Quiet Zone. Olly Smith/David Coles suffered the same fate, while four crews were excluded due to give way offences.

The Clubmans rally was decided on a furthest clean tie break, with Russell Goodrum/Nick Clarke just beating Glynn Hayward/Williams Martin to the win.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Steve Cole Bob Blows Peugeot 205 GTi 0m 00s
2 Simon Bush John Upham VW Golf GTi 4m 00s
3 Andy Garrett Jon Taylor Peugeot 205 13m 00s
4 Barry Wier Cath Woodman Vauxhall Astra GTE 17m 00s
5 Bob Wisniewski Paul Lettington Vauxhall Nova GTE 17m 00s
6 Andy Coshan Phil Kendall Renault 19 20m 00s
6 Neil Lewis Simon Lassam Lancia Delta Integrale 20m 00s
8 Geoff Skillen Ian Collings Ford Mondeo 26m 00s
9 Rob Dance Graham Dance Alfa Romeo 43m 00s
10 Jonah Nuttgens Lizzie Pope Peugeot 205 GTi 81m 00s
11 Bob Baker Brian Cammack Vauxhall Corsa SRi 84m 00s
12 Simon Phillips Seb Pickavance Vauxhall Nova GTE 139m 00s
13 Phil Collings Mark Collings Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 52m 00s
14 Jeff Brown Kirstie Lilley Ford Fiesta 1F 63m 00s
15 Rob Ablett Paul Spencer Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 273m 00s
16 Tim Daltry Paul Fillis Ford Escort RS2000 2F 236m 00s
Clubman Rally
1 Russell Goodrum Nick Clarke Ford Fiesta 21m 00s
2 Glynn Hayward William Martin Mini 998 21m 00s