rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

The Winter Rally 2001

North Wales Car Club

13th/14th January 2001

Clerk of the Course: Jon Madoc-Jones

Route: 140 Miles

Maps: 116

Starters: 67

Winners: John Leckie/Baz Green (Subaru Impreza)

The previous year John Leckie/Baz Green looked to have the Winter Rally sewn up when a broken coil ended their event, in 2001 there was no such misfortune as they brought their Subaru Impreza to a dominant win. With a combined total of over forty years rallying, this was the crews first overall win.

The Winter Rally 2001

The North Wales Car Club organised event lived up to its name as a heavy frost took a grip on the Principality's lanes. Despite the tricky conditions 45 of the 67 starters made it to the finish of what was the opening round of the North Western Road Rally Championship.

By the end of the 140 mile event Leckie/Green were over three minutes clear of the BMW M3 of last year's winners Terry Wilson/Phil Harrison. Stuart Newby/Paul Holmberg were just eight seconds shy of the BMW crew to finish third.

Nick Bloxham/Carl Williamson survived a broken clutch cable and a holed water pipe to be holding second place when they were forced to retire at the halfway halt after their Peugeot 205 developed an oil leak. Tudor Morris/Gerallt Davies were among the first retirements when they broke the exhaust on their Escort. Later on, Gary Matthews/Gareth Roberts were delayed when the exhaust on their Skoda Favorit broke. They did complete the route and were classified in 34th place.

Colin Hughes/John Youd (Skoda Felicia) finished in 21st place after they suffered a puncture and the car then fell off the jack as they changed the wheel. Meanwhile Brandon Smith/Paul Edwards retired after the alternator on their Escort failed.

The Semi-Expert Class provided a close battle with Martin Lloyd/Steve Herbert beating Eurig Wyn Thomas/Rhyn Ellis to the class win by just three seconds. Two of the leading class entries were delayed by visits to the ditch, both Cliff Washbrook/Brian Harrison (Ford Escort) and Dewi James/Sion James (Honda CRX) went off the road at different points, the latter thanks to some spectator cars. They finished in 36th and 30th places.

The Novice Class was won by Stephen Dukes/Tim Rice, although Dewi James/Sion James, who finished second, might have taken the award but for a time consuming off in the first half.

Blue Peter presenter, Konnie Huq continued the process of collecting signatures for her license upgrade in preparation for competing on the Swedish Rally. Ben Briant was once again the driver and they had Dovey Valley MC's Keith Davies as a guide. They finished in 40th place.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 John Leckie Baz Green Subaru Impreza 3m 20s
2 Terry Wilson Phill Harrison BMW M3 6m 24s
3 Stuart Newby Paul Holmberg Subaru Impreza 6m 32s
4 Steven Roberts Darren Garrod Toyota Corolla 7m 47s
5 Michael Pedley David Pedley Ford Escort G4 8m 28s
6 Simon Cottrell Marcus Watmough Subaru Legacy 9m 00s
7 Kev Parry Heath Griffiths Toyota Corolla 9m 18s
8 Tony Gush Brynmor Pierce Peugeot 205 10m 05s
9 Iain Scott Jez Harris Toyota Corolla 14m 31s
10 Simon Harrison Paul Mount Ford Escort 10m 37s
11 Brynli Thomas Roger Evans Ford Escort RS2000 11m 04s
12 Roger Tristram Stan Appleton Peugeot 205 GTi 11m 26s
13 Howard Price Steve Griffiths Toyota Corolla 13m 44s
14 Jim Paterson Harry Stanley Subaru Turbo Coupe 14m 30s
15 Stephen Hughes Karl Sieben Ford Sierra 15m 44s
16 Martin Lloyd Steve Herbert Ford Escort Mexico 16m 05s
17 Eurig Wyn Thomas Rhun Ellis Toyota Corolla 16m 08s
18 Alan Williams Barry Jones Vauxhall Nova 18m 28s
19 Dewi Williams Eilir Jones Vauxhall Nova 19m 10s
20 John Galeandro Steve Merrison VW Golf GTi 20m 20s
21 Colin Hughes John Youd Skoda Felicia 20m 43s
22 Mark O’Leary Paul Dolby Toyota Corolla 22m 46s
23 Robert Boliver Peter Morris Opel Manta GTE 23m 04s
24 Nick Banks Reg Graddon Citroen ZX Volcan 23m 36s
25 Steve Edwards Richard Vaugh Ford Sierra 25m 10s
26 Andy Dale Pete Dale Vauxhall Nova 25m 55s
27 Andrew Mathews Colin Jones Ford Fiesta XR2 26m 50s
28 Shaun Buckley Ian Clapham Ford Escort 36m 59s
29 Stephen Dukes Tim Rice Ford Escort 39m 35s
30 Dewi James Sion James Honda CRX 44m 07s
31 Chris Rowlands Dave Evans Vauxhall Astra GTE 1F 9m 56s
32 Andrew Roberts Stuart Roberts Ford Escort 1F 10m 52s
33 Darren Jones Heddwyn Jones Vauxhall Nova Sport 1F 16m 17s
34 Gary Matthews Gareth Roberts Skoda Favorit 1F 25m 17s
35 Neil Bye Stephen Bye Peugeot 205 1F 26m 10s
36 Cliff Washbrook Brian Harrison Ford Escort 2F 38m 01s
37 Gwyn Davies Nigel Williams Peugeot 106 Rallye 3F 35m 30s
38 Steven Owens Will Lynes Ford Escort 4F 48m 01s
39 Stephen Price Colin Cresswell Austin Mini 5F 32m 01s
40 Ben Briant Konnie Huq/Andrew Davies Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 6 5F 37m 04s
41 Tony Watkin Medwyn Evans Vauxhall Nova 7F 47m 57s
42 Dave Edwards Andrew Edwards Ford Escort 9F 36m 09s
43 Martin Eades Chris Welch Vauxhall Nova SR 10F 36m 51s
44 Mark Jones Michael Jones Ford Escort 11F 46m 31s
45 D Postlewaithe N Postlewaithe Peugeot 205 21F 24m 35s