rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Witch Way Road Rally 2001

Pendle & District Motor Club

27th/28th January 2001

Clerk of the Course: Neil Bye

Route: 175 Miles

Maps: 97 98 & 103

Starters: 52

Winners: Stuart Newby/Paul Holmberg (Subaru Impreza)

Witch Way Road Rally 2001
Winners: Stuart Newby/Paul Holmberg (Subaru Impreza)
Photograph: M&H Photography

Stuart Newby/Paul Holmberg took their Simpson Motorsport prepared Subaru Impreza to victory on Pendle District MC's Witch Way Rally.

However this was only after the quickest crew of the night, Carl Hawkins/Iain Tullie, picked up a ten minutes penalty for failing to get confirmation signatures for two code boards. The two crews had only been separated by 30 seconds on time penalties, but the minor slip put the Nova crew way behind on the final results.

Stew Dale/Scott Layton brought their 1300cc Astra into third place, with Gaven Smith/Michael Ogram fourth.

Witch Way Road Rally 2001

The 185 mile event was a round of a number of championships and attracted 52 entries. They faced a difficult night as icy roads combined with patchy fog; these factors were reflected in the results, as even the winners dropped penalties of over 40 minutes.

Christopher Day/Richard Chalmers had led up until second petrol but then picked up two fails after missing a number of controls in the final section. Similarly Jon Lawson/Chris Pringle missed out on a good result as they headed for second place but dropped to 12th after getting a triangle control wrong.

The previous year's winners, Mark Whitford/Steve Porter, withdrew from the event after losing time with a puncture on an early section. The conditions claimed the Corolla of Ian Scott/Jez Harris as an accident put them out of the rally.

David Howell/Stephen Taylor were leading Semi-Experts, coming in 23rd overall. David Bell/Barney Pilgrim were the last car away but easily the first novice crew home, finishing in 13th in place.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Stuart Newby Paul Holmberg Subaru Impreza 40m 25s
2 Carl Hawkins Iain Tullie Vauxhall Nova 49m 48s
3 Stew Dale Scot Layton Vauxhall Astra 54m 05s
4 Gaven Smith Michael Ogram Peugeot 205 GTi 57m 42s
5 Stuart Etherington Rod Carter Peugeot 205 GTi 1h 8m 40s
6 Simon Cottrell Marcus Watmough Subaru Legacy 1h 12m 13s
7 Malcolm Grisdale Bob Hargreaves Subaru Coupe 1h 14m 31s
8 Malcolm Holdsworth Richard Holdsworth Toyota Corolla 1h 16m 32s
9 Chris Melling Chris Wood Vauxhall Astra GTE 1h 27m 19s
10 Brynli Thomas Paul Edwards Ford Escort RS 1h 30m 18s
11 Nigel Bowers Richard Todd VW Golf 1h 57m 21s
12 Jon Lawson Chris Pringle Subaru Legacy 1F 43m 52s
13 David Bell Barney Pilgrim Honda Civic 1F 1h 19m 03s
14 Terry Martin Simon Bentley Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 2h 9m 09s
15 Christopher Day Ric Chalmers Nissan Pulsar GTi-R 2F 44m 22s
16 Chris Bebbington Carl Williamson MG Maestro 2F 1h 58m 11s
17 Ian Jones Peter Tomlinson VW Golf 3F 1h 59m 13s
18 Cliff Washbrook Brian Harrison Ford Escort 3F 2h 35m 45s
19 Sandie Taylor Paul Taylor Peugeot 205 4F 2h 18m 51s
20 Jason Turner Alasstair Crosby Peugeot 309 GTi 4F 2h 33m 12s
21 M Fox G Wilcox Peugeot 309 GTi 4F 2h 36m 48s
22 Bernard Watkins Adam Roper Vauxhall Cavalier 5F 3h 48m 21s
23 David Howell Stephen Taylor Ford Sierra 4x4 6F 3h 15m 17s
24 Simon Daly Russ Moore Ford Fiesta 8F 3h 14m 51s
25 Ali Proctor Jason Crook Vauxhall Astra 9F 3h 31m 16s
26 Andy Whittaker Charlie Tynan Peugeot 205 GTi 11F 4h 10m 37s
27 Steve Edwards Richard Vaughan Ford Sierra 15F 3h 6m 27s