rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Y2K Four Road Rally 2004

Clwb Modur Cymru

24th/25th April 2004

Clerk of the Course: Denis Cardell

Route: 180 Miles

Maps: 146 147 & 160

Starters: 64

Winners: Jamie Turner/Graham Raeburn (MG Metro)

Jamie Turner/Graham Raeburn took their second successive win on the Y2K Road Rally, after a stunning drive over the Abergwseyn Pass.

The event had two short Jogularity section, which formed a sandwich, with a circuit of the Epynt Ranges as its filling. These tests were followed by the crucial run over the Abergwesyn loop. The Brecon-based rally finished with a final run over Epynt. The rally included the Welsh Retro Historic Rally, which, due to a lack of entries, had shed its day time test and regularity sections.

It was the fourth running of the Clwb Modur Cymru event and was a round of the North Western Championship. The Welsh Retro was a counter to the HRCR Nocturnal Challenge.

Y2K Four Road Rally 2004
Runners Up: Martin Leonard/Kevin Chaffey (VW Golf GTi)

John Morgan/Byron Jones (Citroen Saxo) led after the first Jogularity, picking up just four seconds penalties. They dropped a minute on the first visit to Epynt, which dropped them to fifth. They cleaned the second Jogularity and had moved up to third when they crashed out on Abergewsyn.

Mike Cartwright/David Pedley (Vauxhall Astra) had been third after the first Jogularity, but picked up some large penalties, before also retiring on Abergwesyn.

Jamie Turner/Graham Raeburn, moved up from second to take the lead after cleaning the first Epynt loop. However a disasterous second Jogularity saw them picked up 62 seconds in penalties and they fell to fourth.

Top 5 Positions after Jogularity 2:
Martin Leonard/Kevin Chaffey (VW Golf GTi) 0m 20s
Keith Jenkins/Edwyn Evans (Saab 96 V4) 0m 34s
John Morgan/Byron Jones (Citroen Saxo) 1m 04s
Jamie Turner/Graham Raeburn (Rover Metro) 1m 08s
Anthony Gluyas/Richard Preece (Peugeot 205 GTi) 2m 30s

The final result was decided on the run over the legendary Abergewsyn mountain road. Turner/Raeburn were the only crew to clean the section and retook a lead they weren't to lose, as they also cleaned the second and final visit to Epynt and its surrounding forests.

Y2K Four Road Rally 2004
Retro Winners: Chris Jenkins/Tony Brooks (Austin Mini)

Leonard/Chaffey were second fastest over Abergewsyn, dropping 1m 17s. They also cleaned Epynt and came home on second place, 29 seconds behind the winners.

Being fourth quickest on Abergewsyn, Jenkins/Evans maintained third place and the lead in the Welsh Rally Retro, however they dropped a total of 12 minutes on Epynt and fell behind their Historic rivals, Chris Jenkins/Tony Brooks (Austin Mini), at the Finish. Jenkins/Brooks picked up four minutes over Epynt and finished in seventh place overall.

Pete Johnson/Andy Berry (Vauxhall Corsa) had had two poor Jogularity sections, but dropped just one minute on the last Epynt loop, this propelled them to fourth place, just one second behind third placed Anthony Gluyas/Richard Preece. Alyson Acreman/Matthew Maidment (Honda Civic) completed the top five finishers.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Jamie Turner Graham Raeburn Rover Metro GTi 1m 08s
2 Martin Leonard Kevin Chaffey VW Golf GTi 1m 37s
3 Anthony Gluyas Richard Preece Peugeot 205 GTi 7m 55s
4 Pete Johnson Andy Berry Vauxhall Corsa 7m 56s
5 Alyson Acreman Matthew Maidment Honda Civic VTi 10m 05s
6 David Jones Glyn Price Peugeot 205 GTi 12m 25s
7 Chris Jenkins Tony Brooks Austin Mini 14m 18s
8 Jerry Jones Mark Robinson Peugeot 309 GTi 15m 03s
9 Keith Jenkins Edwyn Evans Saab 96 V4 15m 49s
10 Robert Price Mark Coleman Vauxhall Astra 17m 23s
11 Dick Appleton Andy Gibson Mini Cooper S 24m 58s
12 Owen Turner Andrew Dadswell Rover Metro GTi 25m 07s
13 Paul Heal Peter Blackett MGB GT 27m 12s
14 Wynne Jones Don James Volvo Amazon 28m 42s
15 Steven Powell David Sanderson VW Polo 33m 45s
16 Robert Brown Alex Gill Peugeot 309 GTi 36m 20s
17 John Kiff Robert Kiff VW Beetle 39m 58s
18 Jason Thomas Christopher Spry Ford Sierra GLXi 40m 25s
19 Malcolm Thorne Mark Lampert Ford Escort Mexico 42m 56s
20 Richard Atherton Chris Bowden MG Maestro 43m 15s
21 Abigail Summerfield Alex Heavens Audi Quattro 100 Avant 44m 08s
22 Michael Jones Kevin Tweedy Peugeot 205 GTi 49m 14s
23 Mike Pugsley David Harris Ford Escort RS2000 51m 03s
24 Ian Chivers Peter Chappelle Talbot Sunbeam 53m 44s
25 Geraint Elley Alun James Ford Escort 56m 46s
26 Nevill Frampton Michael Grey Mini 1275GT 57m 29s
27 Allan Alford Ted Williams Peugeot 205 GTi 59m 16s
28 Phil Bennett Rebecca Baldock Ford Sierra 1h 00m 21s
29 Steve Reed Mike Newell Peugeot 205 GTi 1h 01m 09s
30 Ben Davies Kate Jones Peugeot 205 XS 1h 10m 46s
31 Carwyn Roberts Dylan Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 1h 11m 42s
32 Andrew Halloway Daniel France Peugeot 205 GTi 1h 16m 41s
33 Gareth Morris Kelvin Hughes Ford Escort 1h 29m 24s
34 Anthony Williams Alan Marsh Ford Escort 1h 30m 14s
35 Neil Lewis Paul Hardy Lancia Delta Integrale 2h 07m 18s
36 Andrew Lewis David Powell Peugeot 205 GTi 2h 10m 20s
37 Steve Warburton Oliver Thomas Audi 90 Saloon 2h 12m 37s
38 Roger Holder Fred Harris Ford Sierra XR4x4 2h 42m 16s
39 Len Giles Helen Giles Peugeot 205 GTi 2h 43m 21s
40 Darren Draper Robert Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 2h 44m 22s
41 Dane Elliott Will Arrowsmith Peugeot 205 GTi 3h 13m 20s
42 Michael Jones Kevin Tweedy Peugeot 205 GTi 3h 19m 14s
43 Delwyn Mann Tony Derrick Ford Cortina GT 3h 45m 50s
44 Phil Jones John Williams Volvo 480 4h 02m 47s
45 Gareth Davies Daniel Evans Vauxhall Astra 8h 22m 36s