rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Y2K Two Road Rally 2002

Clwb Modur Cymru

27th/28th April 2002

Clerk of the Course: Denis Cardell & Ken Owen

Route: 180 Miles

Maps: 146 147 & 160

Starters: 23

Winners: Robert Wilson/Dylan Jenkins (Peugeot 205 GTi)

Y2K Welsh Milennium Rally 2002

A steady run by Robert Wilson/Dylan Jenkins saw them through to a win on the Y2K Two 2002 Rally. The road rally ran alongside the night section of Clwb Modur Cymru’s Historic Welsh Retro event. It had a 185 mile route using the Epynt Ranges and the surrounding lanes. It proved to be a tough test for the twenty-three crews who took the start at Brecon. The difficulties of an intricate route were added to by torrential rain and later, fog, however nineteen crews made it to the Finish.

Wilson/Jenkins, competing in a Peugeot 205, avoided the mistakes made by many of the other crews to come home almost four minutes in front of the similar car of Garry Jenkins/Eric Tong. The latter pairing taking the Novice Class win as well. Martin Evans/Brian Jones might have taken the win but a wrong depart from a control in Crychan Forest cost them a fifteen minute penalty and dropped them to third place at the Finish. Paul Tod/Iestyn ap Daffydd were only fifteen seconds behind in fourth. Chris Jenkins/Steve Durbin finished fifth and were the first Semi-Expert crew home.

Late entries Alyson Acreman/Matthew Maidment were going well, on what was only the navigator's second event, until they started to run out of maximum lateness and had to cut route. Top seeds Graham Davies/Cliff Jones with drew after picking up a wrong departure penalty at the same control in Crychan as Evans/Jones.

The Welsh Rally Retro was won by Peter Horsburgh/Anthony Preston, who led home a Mini Cooper S 1-2-3 on the event. Len Olds/Andy Ballantyne had led at the lunch halt, but lost time with a wrong slot in Crychan on the night leg.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Rob Wilson Dylan Jenkins Peugeot 205 GTi 37m 04s
2 Garry Jenkins Eric Tong Peugeot 205 GTi 40m 47s
3 Martin Evans Brian Jones Nissan Micra 45m 09s
4 Paul Tod Iestyn ap Dafydd Peugeot 205 GTi 45m 26s
5 Chris Jenkins Steve Durbin Austin Mini 48m 18s
6 Martin Leonard Kevin Chaffey VW Golf GTi 53m 29s
7 David Jones Glyn Price Peugeot 205 GTi 55m 46s
8 Julian Smith Chris Short Toyota Corolla 1h 00m 49s
9 Shane Palmer Matthew Farr Ford Escort XR3i 1h 07m 49s
10 Alan Lewis Huw Davies Nissan Micra 1h 26m 56s
11 Clive Bayliss Mark Williams Opel Manta 1h 37m 55s
12 Alun Probert Raymond Davies Ford Sierra XR4i 1h 46m 38s
13 Mark Hatton Robin Moses Hillman Avenger 1h 48m 26s
14 Alyson Acreman Matthew Maidment Honda Civic 2h 11m 03s
15 Wayne Arrowsmith William Arrowsmith Ford Fiesta 2h 25m 28s
16 James Chappelle Sandy Loynd Morris Mini 2h 57m 11s
17 Mike Pugsley David Harris Ford Escort RS2000 3h 06m 47s
18 Daniel Curtis Christopher Shapland Vauxhall Nova 6h 05m 05s
19 Allan Alford Ted Williams Ford Fiesta XR2 8h 04m 23s


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Peter Horsburgh Anthony Preston Mini Cooper S 35m 23s
2 Peter Valentine Mick Valentine Mini Cooper S 39m 27s
3 Dick Appleton Mark Appleton Mini Cooper S 40m 31s
4 Dave Hughes Richard Dix Volvo Amazon 44m 00s
5 Terry Pickering Paul Robinson Triumph TR3 50m 05s
6 Geoff McGladery Steve Freeman Ford Anglia 56m 12s
7 Keith Jenkins Andy Gibson Saab 96 V4 57m 54s
8 Len Olds Andy Ballantyne Triumph TR4 1h 06m 53s
9 Paul Heal Robin Maclachan MGB GT 1h 32m 37s
10 Keith Grant Cliff England Volvo 122S 2h 12m 26s
11 Jim Deacon Dave Wilson Lotus Cortina 2h 22m 36s
12 Noel Hughes Gwawr Hughes Saab 96 V4 2h 32m 06s
13 Wes Massam Bernard Northmore Volvo PV544 3h 08m 07s
14 Ian Crammond Peter Ward Mercedes 280SL 3h 08m 54s
15 Geoff Breakell Nigel Raeburn Mini Cooper S 3h 20m 55s
16 Ted Howles Judy Howles Reliant Scimitar 3h 25m 45s
17 Tony Brooks Ian Young Saab Sonett 3h 40m 13s
18 Keith Wilson Dave Cooper Volvo PV544 3h 49m 09s
19 John Kiff Robert Kiff VW Beetle 4h 12m 00s
20 David York Geoff Rogers Sunbeam Rapier 4h 19m 32s
21 Ernest Calvert Brian Smith MGA Roadster 4h 37m 41s
22 John Hartley Jonathan Ball Porsche 911 4h 48m 33s
23 Peter Barker Lin Hon Baker Lancia Fulvia HF 7h 11m 25s