Organiser: Harlech & District Motor Club  Date: May 03 Where: Llanbedr Airfield Championships: ANWCC Stages: 8 Starters: 26.



Wil Owen/Rob Hopewell dominated the Toyota Harlech Stages on Sunday, coming home almost a minute and a half ahead of the field to record their second successive victory on the North Wales event.

There were just 26 starters; the low number being partly accounting for by the event being dropped from the Welsh Championship after its forced change of date from the end of the month.

Wil Owen was fastest by 12 seconds on SS1 and increased the lead to over a minute after SS3. He went on to take fastest time on six stages, losing out on SS5 when he indulged in three spins and on the final test when victory was assured.

The chase was led all day by Lyndon Barton/Simon Hunter. Barton was competing in the Ace Suspension Escort which he used to own, after his planned BMW steed developed engine problems. Slowed by understeer problem initially he got things sorted and after lunch kept the gap to the leaders stable at just over a minute and took fastest time at the end of the  day on SS8.

Rob Hughes revelled in the power of his Millington powered Focus on the wide open spaces of the airfield and came home third, half a minute ahead of Brandon Smith’s Darrian.

Gary Ollerenshaw put in an impressive performance, finishing fifth overall in his Honda Civic on his first stage rally.

Emyr Owen/Eilir Williams, running on cut slicks despite the drizzle, had put their 1600cc Peugeot 106 into third place by SS4, but then, after a Judge of Fact’s report had been received, found themselves relegated down the order for straight lining a chicane. They underlined their speed by taking fastest on SS5, before withdrawing from the rally.

Conrad Law was another driver penalised for missing a chicane; a penalty that cost him a fifth placed finish.



Motorsport News - 6th May 2015


Toyota Harlech Stages

Harlech & District Motor Club

3rd May 2015










Winners: Wil Owen/Rob Hopewell (Ford Escort)

Photograph: Sonya Jones Rally Photography


Overall Positions

Award Winners

Stage Times in Position Order

Stage Times in Number Order

Fastest Stage Times

Stage Times (Excel Spreadsheet)

List of Starters


>> >>
rally results service



Le Jog

Chris Hellier

James Trenholme

Peak Revs

Powys Lanes

Glyn Memorial



1000 Lanes


Hill Billy Sprint

Exmoor Targa


Rali Mon

Rali Meirion

Clwyd Vale Classic

Colman Tyres

Rali Gogledd

Gareth Hall

Barcud Rally

Harry Flatters

Ross Traders

1000 Mile Trial



PK Memorial

Eagle Rally

Summer Trial

Automark Novices

Harlech Stages

Border 100

Night Owl

Bro Preseli

Devil’s Tour

Rali Llyn


Rali Bro Caron

Bryniau Clwyd


Festival Rally

Rali Mike Darowen

Winter Classic


2015 Results