Organiser: Welsh Border Car Club Date: May 07/08 Where: Llanfyllin Championships: WAMC, ANWCC & AWMMC Route: 100 Miles Starters: 88.



Event sponsor Dale Furniss took his second successive win on the Border 100 Rally, when he had navigator Nick Bloxham led for most of the event over a tough and intricate route.

They tied for the lead with Iwan Jones/Stewart Merry after the 22 mile opening section, which included seven intermediate time controls. The latter crew slipped up on the second section and allowed Furniss/Bloxham to open up a lead that they weren’t to lose.

The chase was taken up by Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Steve Price, but they were already 30 seconds down and finished over a minute behind the winners at the end. Jones/Merry took third; these three crews being well clear of the rest of the field.

There was a high attrition rate with just 38 of the 88 starters making the Finish. Ian ‘Dude’ Roberts/Gwawr Hughes developed electrical problems on the opening test. They stopped and changed the alternator but the issues reoccurred almost immediately. The source of the problem was traced to a faulty wire but by then they had lost a huge amount of time and retired.

Will Arrowsmith/Ceri Davies had held a top ten position until a broken fan belt cost them precious time. Meanwhile John ‘Mk1’ Thomas/Neil Spier retired after becoming stuck on a triangle.



Motorsport News - 11th May 2016


Border 100 Rally

Sponsored by DF Design

Welsh Border Car Club

7th/8th May 2016












Winners: Dale Furniss/Nick Bloxham (VW Golf GTi)

Photograph: Duncan Littler



Overall Positions

Award Winners

All Fail Penalties

Positions at Petrol

Class Positions

List of Starters


>> >>
rally results service


JJ Brown Memorial

Roamerlite Novice

Le Jog

Glyn Memorial

Farrington Trophy


Peak Revs

James Trenholme

Powys Lanes

Barbara Carter

Hill Billy Sprint

Devil’s Own


HERO Challenge

Rali Mon

Rali Meirion

Exmoor Targa

Dyffryn Twymyn

Vale of Clwyd

Colman Tyres

Classic Lanes

Gareth Hall



Harry Flatters


Ross Traders


1000 Mile Trial

116 Targa

PK Memorial

Summer Trial

Eagle Rally

Three Castles


Border 100

Harlech Stages

Tour of Anglesey

Scottish Malts

Night Owl

Bro Preseli

Devils Tour

Rali Llyn

Bath Festival

Rali Bro Caron

Bryniau Clwyd

Rali Mike Darowen

JJ Brown Memorial

Winter Classic

2016 Results