rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Malky Rally

Sponsored by ACE Motorsport

Blackwood & District Motor Club

27th/28th October 2007

Clerk of the Course: Len Giles & Ian Cooke

Route: 150 Miles

Maps: 160, 161, 170 & 171

Starters: 88

Winners: Matthew Maidment/James Morgan (Peugeot 205)

Matthew Maidment/James Morgan followed up their win on the previous month’s Twilight by taking a narrow victory on a wet and slippery Malky. For the top three crews the matter was decided on just one section, a four minuter just south of Abergavenny in the Coed-y-Prior area. All three were clean of any penalties at all other controls.

Maidment/Morgan managed to stop the clock four seconds earlier than top seeds Carl Davies/Andy Card on this vital test, with Gareth Jones/Dave Powell sixteen seconds further behind.

Mark Robinson/Steve Durbin were third fastest over this section but a fuel pump problem in the second half cost them over three minutes.

Dafydd Evans/Richard Morris were the first non-local crew and finished in fifth place.

Top novices David Jones/Philip Hooper had been fifth at Petrol but three missed route checks later on dropped them to twelfth at the Finish but they still retained their class win.