rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

The Twilight Rally

Ecurie Cymraeg

1st September 2007

Clerk of the Course: Steve Durbin & James Chappelle

Route: 100 Miles

Maps: 161, 162 & 171

Venues: Cwmcarn, Caerwent & Chepstow Park

Starters: 60

Winners: Matthew Maidment/James Morgan (Peugeot 205 GTi)

Matthew Maidment/James Morgan took the narrowest of wins, passing long time leaders Ian 'Dude' Roberts/Dale Furniss on the very last test to finish just two seconds ahead.

The daylight road rally had crews tackle an intense ten hours of motoring which saw almost half the field failing to finish.

Roberts/Furniss led from the short opening test until a return to the venue.

Maidment/Morgan had been eighth early on but fought their way back, a time 18 seconds quicker then Roberts/Furniss saw them take the win on the line.

Carl Davies/Andy Card could have taken the win but for a penalty when they booking in early on the first visit to Caerwent. Steve Knibbs/Gerwyn Barry had been as high as third at one point, they slipped back to eighth at the finish but were still the leading Semi-Expert crew.

Mark 'GT' Roberts/Steve Herbert went out when a drive shaft broke while fuel pump problems put Mark Robinson/David Powell out of contention.