rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Y2K/Welsh Rally Retro 2008

Clwb Modur Cymru

8th/9th December 2007

Clerk of the Course: Denis Cardell & James Chappelle

Route: 160 Miles

Maps: 146. 147, 159, 160 & 161

Starters: 59

Winners: Glyn Price/Iwan Jones (Ford Escort)

Glyn Price/Iwan Jones were delayed twice by a wheel coming loose on their Escort but still managed to take the win on the Y2K.

However with over three-quarters of the rally completed it looked as if Tim Evans/Alun Probert were heading for victory, they were three minutes clear of the field when their Micra broke a drive shaft. This incident also held up Dai Bowen/Dylan Jenkins, who had been in second place, long enough to allow Price/Jones through into the lead they weren’t to lose.

Ian 'Dude' Roberts/Dale Furniss finished third to secure the WAMC championship for the navigator. Furniss’ main rival for the title had been Llinos Jones, but she failed to finish.

The Welsh Rally Retro was the final round of the HRCR Night Rally Championship and an event win saw Andy Nixon/David Taylor take the title as Jon Wood/Paul Taylor, their closest challengers, went out in the opening sections.