rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Carpetbagger Rally

Road Rally Register

19th/20th January 2008

Clerk of the Course: Roger Hunt

Route: 185 Miles

Maps: 181, 192 & 193

Starters: 49

Winners: John Davies/Stewart Merry (Vauxhall Astra)

John Davies and Stewart Merry achieved a narrow win over Owen Turner/Graham Raeburn on a wet and gruelling Carpetbagger Rally, the winning pair taking the lead with just two time controls to go. Davies and Merry, who were only teamed up a few hours before the start of the event, lost over three minutes when their car drowned out in a 18 inch deep ‘puddle’ but they fought back to take victory and make Merry the only person to have won the challenging event twice.

Frank Evans/Paul Taylor led initially but fell back to third at the Finish. Mike Quinnell/Mark Sheppard had been in third at the second petrol halt but stopped with mechanical problems soon afterwards.

Peter Valentine/Mick Valentine retired after slipping into a ditch while trying to pass an oncoming milk tanker. Matt Fowle/Mark Appleton lost eight minutes trying unsuccessfully to help them get back on to the road, but went on to finish eighth.