rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Classic Tracks Rally

Sponsored by West Wales Rally Spares & Blossom Lodge Catering

Llandysul Motor Club

25th May 2008

Clerk of the Course: Glan Harbud & Alun Davies

Route: 100 Miles

Maps: 145 & 146

Starters: 74

Winners: Byron Jones/James Morgan (Subaru Impreza)

After numerous problematic outings Byron Jones/James Morgan finally took their normally aspirated Impreza to a rally win. Run largely in torrential rain, the annual daylight road rally obviously favoured the 4WD traction of the Subaru, however Jones found that stopping the large car was a more difficult task, a close call with a farmyard gate post being witness to the problem.

The organisers had once again managed to put together a large number of competitive sections using, in the main, farm tracks, these were linked by low speed public road sections.

John Davies/Eurig Davies had led up until the end of the fourth section, but Jones/Morgan overtook them on the fifth test. The places were swapped once more on the sixth, before the winners managed to edge ahead by seven seconds on the last section.

Tony Davies/Jeff James came from the reserve list and despite a resultant low seeding managed to take third place.