rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Dafydd Richard Memorial Rally

Sponsored by CP Electrical Contractors

Lampeter & District Motor Club

25th/26th October 2008

Clerk of the Course: Edryd Evans

Route: 110 Miles

Maps: 146

Starters: 75

Winners: Nick Evans/Edwin Venville (Ford Escort)

Having narrowly missed out on a rally win on a number of occasions, Nick Evans/Edwin Venville finally tasted victory on the 2008 Dafydd Richards Memorial Rally. Against a highly competitive field they simply drove away from the opposition. They took fastest time at the first time control, then romped away to come home over three minutes clear of the second placed crew.

The runner up spot was taken by Barry Jones/James Morgan although Martyn O’Connor/Aled Jones would have been in the position but for having missed a passage control. Similarly Ystwyth Rally winners Irfon Richards/Andrew Edwards would have been third but for a wrong approach at a tricky three metre control – they were one of nine crews to make the same error.

Top seeds Kevin Davies/Dorian Davies finished tenth after losing nineteen minutes after going off the road. Clutch problems meant that Adrian Jones/Dylan Jenkins, who had been fifth at Petrol, had to cut route to make the Finish.

From a start number of 56 Gavin Perry/Tudur Jones came through to take fifth place and win the Semi-Expert category.

Heavy rain fell throughout the event making the going difficult especially as numerous farm tracks were used. These conditions were largely responsible for only 32 of the 75 starters being classified as finishers.