rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Farrington Trophy Rally

Sponsored by Health Car Centre, Wales

Clwyd Vale Motor Club

22nd/23rd November 2008

Clerk of the Course: John Broadhurst & Gareth Williams

Route: 130 Miles

Maps: 116 & 125

Starters: 80

Winners: Ian Lloyd/Cyril Jones (Seat Ibiza)

Ian Lloyd/Cyril Jones moved from sixth place at Petrol to take the lead on the penultimate section and regain the Farrington Trophy they previously won two years ago. While it was home territory of the winners, two crews unfamiliar with the area, Peter Collins/Llinos Jones and Hywel Davies/Martin Phasey, took second and third places.

Stuart Kelso/Michael Hughes dropped to fifth after booking in early at a TC and adding two minutes to their total.

Richard Jerman/Iwan Jones had built up a two minute lead by Petrol but went out with broken rear suspension. Their retirement ensured that the WAMC Championship went to Steve Wood/Aled Richards, who finished sixth.

Neil Roberts/Dale Furniss were holding second place when a failed drive shaft put them out and 2007 winners John Leckie/Paul Holmberg could have won again but for a wrong approach at a Time Control. Their problems meant that Jonty Bloxham/Nick Bloxham, who finished seventh, took the ANWCC title.