rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Gremlin Rally

Sponsored by Old Forge Garage

Brecon Motor Club

8th/9th March 2008

Clerk of the Course: James Chappelle

Route: 200 Miles

Maps: 147, 160 & 161

Starters: 47

Winners: Peter Collins/Llinos Jones (Vauxhall Astra)

Peter Collins/Llinos Jones took victory on the Gremlin by the narrowest of margins, they finished just one second ahead of top seeds Richard Jerman/Iwan Jones. Both crews had cleaned the second and third legs of the rally, so the matter was decided on the opening Jogularity and the one section timed to the second.

The Gremlin is an old fashioned endurance challenge. Almost continuous four minute sections keep the pressure on crews throughout the seven hours of competition. Maintain concentration and it can be cleaned, but one small slip or problem and the penalties quickly accumulate.

Only the top three finishers managed to meet the challenge this year. The relatively inexperienced crew of William Arrowsmith/Matthew Farr taking third.

After the Jogularity, Ian Orford/Peter Barnard led and Alyson Acreman/Byron Jones were second. The former crew went on to finish in sixth place but Acreman/Jones retired their Impreza soon afterwards with engine problems.