rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

JJ Brown Memorial Rally

Caernarvonshire & Anglesey Motor Club

6th/7th December 2008

Clerk of the Course: Rhys Morgan

Route: 150 Miles

Maps: 115 & 116

Starters: 60

Winners: Dafydd Evans/Richard Morris (Ford Escort)

The Machynlleth pairing of Dafydd Evans/Richard Morris took victory on an event that was severely affected by the icy conditions. Eventually three of the rally’s thirteen sections had to be cancelled due to the heavy frost.

At the halfway halt there were fourteen crews still clear of penalties however all clean sheets disappeared on the final section of the night. Top seeds Gavin Edwards/Dylan Jones were the fastest crew over this test, however they had picked up a fail for booking in early at a previous control. A similar error dropped John Paul Williams/William Hughes from third to 29th at the Finish.

The winners were eight seconds faster over the critical section to give the driver his debut rally win. Steven John Williams/Gwawr Hughes took the runner up spot ahead of Dafydd Rhys Edwards/Dylan John Williams.

Mei Jones/Dale Furniss had been clean at Petrol but they withdrew later with damaged steering.