rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Night Owl Rally

Sponsored by E&M Motor Factors

Aberystwyth & District Motor Club

26th/27th April 2008

Clerk of the Course: Wayne Edwards & Phil Ralphs

Route: 126½ Miles

Maps: 135

Starters: 90

Winners: Stephen Wood/Aled Richards (Peugeot 206)

Stephen Wood/Aled Richards followed up their Rali Bro Teifi win two weeks before with victory on the Night Owl, making it two Welsh Championship wins in a row.

The pair held the lead from the start, losing it briefly after the petrol halt when they booked into a control early. However they bounced back and even a quick visit to a ditch couldn’t stop them taking the top spot at the Finish.

The last minute pairing of Tony Davies/Eurig Davies finished just six seconds down, having led early in the second half. Mei Jones/Steve Herbert also had a turn at the lead before finishing in third.

Top seeds Clive Williams/Dorian Evans would have been possible contenders but they booked in early at two controls and picked up over two minutes of unnecessary penalties.

Richard Jerman/Iwan Jones were in second at Petrol but a puncture saw them fall to eighth at the Finish.