rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

PK Memorial Rally

Sponsored by Polyroof

Bala & District Motor Club

28th/29th June 2008

Clerk of the Course: Roger Evans

Route: 145 Miles

Maps: 116 & 125

Starters: 88

Winners: Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Steve Price (VW Golf)

Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Steve Price won a challenging event by just three seconds from Steve Wood/Aled Richards. The difference between the two crews may have been largely down to luck. Both picked up punctures during the night, but while Roberts picked his up on a cleanable section, Wood suffered his on one of the tightly timed daylight tests that opened the rally. Wood/Richards actually got into the lead by just one second, with two sections to go but lost out at the last few controls.

Baz Green/Rob Jones were less than thirty seconds behind but were almost five minutes ahead the rest of the field.

A number of leading crews lost ground when they picked up five minute penalties for missing one or more code boards on the opening tests. Most notable amongst these were Richard Jerman/Iwan Jones, who were clean of time penalties after the evening session but had missed two boards. John Leckie/Paul Holmberg missed a board and top seeds Steve Sothall/Chris Webber were another crew to miss two.

Despite losing out on the win, Wood and Richards now find themselves in a very strong position at the head of the Welsh Road Rally Championship.