rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Mon

Sponsored by AFG

Caernarvonshire & Anglesey Motor Club

5th/6th July 2008

Clerk of the Course: Paul Morris & Merfyn Williams

Route: 120 Miles

Maps: 114

Starters: 65

Winners: Mei Jones/Dale Furniss (Vauxhall Astra)

Mei Jones/Dale Furniss took a comfortable win on the Rali Môn, to give the driver his third successive victory on the event. They took the lead on the second of the rally’s eight sections and pulled away from the field to finish exactly one minute ahead of the runners up.

The organisers had put on a challenging route using the maze of narrow lanes in the northern half of the island. The road surfaces having been made treacherous by a combination of heavy rain showers and farmers transporting silage.

Jonty Bloxham/Nick Bloxham continued their good run of results. Early in the event they put their nose briefly in front before holding on to take a secure second place.

Sion Matthews/Gareth Jones put in a noticeable performance by finishing in sixth place and taking the Semi-Expert class by four minutes.

Both Dewi Williams/Darren Garrod and Stephen Kerr/Alan Jones retired before Petrol, their cars having suffered clutch failure.